Solid Ground
Kush I
Glover Media
September 28, 2010

Track list
  1. Intro
  2. Be Yourself
  3. Break Up
  4. Conference Table
  5. Frankincense
  6. Holy Jah Ras Tafari
  7. Jamdown Style
  8. Living Again
  9. Love Fool
  10. Mother Of Eternity
  11. Nothing But Dust
  12. Organise
  13. Poor Man's Love
  14. Run Come Love You
  15. Seek Ye First
  16. Solid Ground
  17. Sweetest Affection
  18. I Just Thought You Should Know
  19. Toxic Rain
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 1-
Very Good -Votes: 1-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 3
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
In comparison with fellow UK artists like Lloyd Brown, Peter Hunnigale and Peter Spence, Kush I may not be that well known to a large audience, but he certainly sounds almost as good as the aforementioned singers. Since he emerged on the scene Errol Henry aka Kush I, who was born in Kingston JA and now resides in England, has often been aligned with singers like Sanchez, Tabby Diamonds and the late Garnet Silk. However his style of writing is all his own and and the subtle nuances of his singing style is unmistakable. His first full length album, the 2004 released "Love-Deh-Ya" on the Calbut Productions Record Label, was a decent collection of tunes that gave a good glimpse of his skills and talent.

Six years after the release of "Love-Deh-Ya", Kush I delivers a brand new album and it's obvious he has managed to hone his vocal style further. With instrumental assistance from Jamaican sax maestro Dean Fraser, renown guitarist Earl "Chinna" Smith, drummers Melbourne George Miller, Kirk Dennis and Dave Fluxy, bass players Donald Dennis, Chris Meredith and Daniel "Axeman" Thompson and Keith Sterling, Paul "Wrongmove" Crossdale and Ansel Collins on keys as well as Pam Hall, The Daffodils, Paul "Lymie" Murray and LMJ providing harmonies, Kush I's vocal presence captivates. After the spoken, nyahbinghi flavored "Intro" has faded away, the listener is treated to a varied mixture of warm 'n' easy modern roots and lovers rock with a strong upful vibe. The album is solid throughout and features prime cuts such as "Break Up", "Conference Table", "Holy Jah Ras Tafari", "Living Again", "Seek Ye First", "Poor Man's Love" and the album closer "Toxic Rain".

Probably you won't be blown away by any of the 19 tracks, but all in all the tunes on this album are so delightful, well produced and nice sounding that it's a real joy to give them a spin more than once.