So Many Signs
Charm-Jet Star
February 8, 2001

Track list
  1. So Many Signs
  2. What's Going On
  3. Survivor
  4. Love Revolution
  5. No Matter What
  6. Let Love Last
  7. Crying For Love
  8. Never Give Up
  9. Good Old Days
  10. I.O.U.
  11. Your Love Is My Love
  12. Tell Me
  13. For Your Love
  14. Stand By Me
  15. To Know Her
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
A few years ago Jet Star started to build their own Cave Studio which not only enables one of the UK's leading independents to record established stars passing through their studio, but now they are also able to initiate projects to encourage homegrown talent like for example the Ras Ites and Antonio. The latter is a new major vocal talent whose highly anticipated debut CD has been recorded and mixed in its entirety at Cave Studio in London NW10 featuring such great musicians like Mafia & Fluxy, Computer Paul, Jazzwad, Black Steel, Tony "Ruff Cut" Phillips and the horns of Tan Tan, Winston "Bammie" Rose, Trevor and John Morris. "So Many Signs" showcases the efforts of a singer whose vocal performance is very much in the same vein as his Jamaican counterparts Sanchez, Wayne Wonder and Tony Curtis.

Antonio emerged some two years ago and has been thrilling UK's reggae massive with his live performances and a number of hit singles for Jet Star. Antonio, real name Maurice Silvera, hails from Jamaica's coastal town of Port Antonio where he actually started his musical career in 1990 by singing on local sound systems Mafia Five, Prince Ajax and Missile, rapidly making himself a reputation under the name Singing Morris. In Jamaica he also recorded his debut singles "In Love We Can All Rely" and "Woman A Yu Me Want", the latter being released on Portland label Black Lion in 1996. After a European tour with the Jungle Brothers he settled down in London during the summer of 1998, where Trevor "Juggling" T immediately recognised the man's potential and renamed him Antonio after the singer's hometown. Trevor T produced his UK debut tune "From So Long" over Cave Studio's "Riverbash" riddim, which actually led to Jet Star signing him on the spot.

Antonio's debut album contains his hit singles "I.O.U.", the awesome "So Many Signs" (over a revitalized version of Mighty Daimonds' "Have Mercy" riddim), the outrageous "Survivor" (across the "Mr. Fix It" riddim) and the excellent answer version to Terry Linen's "Your Love Is My Love", which was first presented in Jamaica as a dubplate special by David Rodigan during his clash with G.T. Taylor before it received extensive airplay on the Island. But there are more highlights included on this album like for example the conscious tunes "What's Going On" and "No Matter What", the latter utilizing Studio One's classic "A Love I Can Feel" riddim. But also "Crying For Love", "Good Old Days" and "Tell Me" are solid deliveries.

With "So Many Signs" Antonio has delivered a well varied set showing he is a singer with a great soulful voice who is equally at home with love songs and message tunes. The man's excellent vocal technique and feel combined with the crisp and clear sound of the well laid riddims turns his first album into an impressive debut set. Highly recommended to lovers of quality vocal music!!