Songs Of Solomon
VP Records-Walboomers Music
July 12, 2005

Track list
  1. All Night
  2. Slim Girl
  3. Heartless
  4. Who Dem
  5. What Can I Do
  6. Life Is So Sweet featuring Diana Rutherford
  7. Keep U Satisfied
  8. Sun Will Come Out
  9. Always In My Heart
  10. Positive Energy
  11. Move Crucial
  12. Anytime
  13. Prove Dem Wrong
  14. Leave Us Alone
  15. Unify
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Born in 1981, in Kingston, Sheldon Campbell, a.k.a. Turbulence, is regarded one of the more talented conscious singjays to emerge in the new millennium. He was spotted by Phillip "Fatis" Burrell, owner of the Xterminator label, who produced the gifted artist's self-titled debut album in 2000. In the beginning Turbulence was perceived as a copycat of Sizzla, because of the similarity of their voices, but along the way he succeeded in finding his own voice as can be experienced while listening to this collection of tunes. Since his debut release Turbulence has delivered ten full length studio albums, mostly for Xterminator but in recent years also for other producers like Kemar McGregor & Ingo Kleinhammer, Lustre Kings, Paul Daley & Steven Stanley, and Brotherman. Currently Turbulence is riding high with his "Notorious" hit, which he recorded for THC Muzic. For this prestigious release Turbulence has returned to his mentor, Fatis Burrell, and the Xterminator production camp, renowned for their 1990s work with Luciano, Sizzla, Cocoa Tea and Mikey General, to name a few. The final result is a 15 track album of progressive dancehall blending a variety of moods and vibes. Except for a few refurnished riddims like for example "Smile" ("Positive Energy"), "Sleng Teng" ("Prove Dem Wrong") and Augustus Pablo’s "Cassava Piece" ("Life So Sweet" with Diana Rutherford), this set mainly contains well crafted modern riddims. Lyrically it ranges from tender expressions of love for his girl to energetic rejections of Babylonian conspiracy. Thus we're treated to tracks like the spiritually inflected love tune "Slim Girl", the internationally flavored soul ballad "All Night" and socially minded songs like "Heartless" and "Unify". Best tracks are the cultural effort "Who Dem", the raging "Prove Dem Wrong", the wonderful combination with Diana Rutherford "Life So Sweet", the upful "Sun Will Come Out", the lovers piece "Always In My Heart" and the wicked "Anytime".
This Turbulence set isn't exactly a modern roots set, as one might expect with a title like "Songs Of Solomon". Overall it's a decent and certainly more than listenable, well varied collection of tunes.