Album review
Presents The Good Old Boys Sessions
Soulfood International
Grover Records
06 - 10 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Südhang feat. Mad Maxamom
  2. Love Letter (GOB Version) feat. Spruddy One, Don Rockshah
  3. T'N'T feat. Thilo Tiger, Tim Extreme
  4. Cumbanchero Dub
  5. Who Wants To Be A Millionaire feat. Dr.Ring-Ding
  6. Experimenteller Kram feat. Mo'Tapez
  7. Vibes Dancehall feat. Skunkhead
  8. Put On Your Wings feat. Don Rockshah
  9. Südstadt Reggae Nr.2 feat. MC Double J
  10. Stamina Sound feat. Spruddy One, Don Rockshah, Sir Boombastic
  11. Sensi Medley feat. Skunkhead
  12. TV Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

The phoenix that rose from the ashes of one of Germany's most respected skabands Court Jester's Crew, the ska-reggae-dancehall outfit Soulfood International presents itself to the public with an album featuring a whole range of guest vocalists over well-known ska to dancehall riddims on the "Good Old Boys Sessions". It is the same thing that started in 1997 as a project in which the band just provided the riddims, and an open-mic brought in the vocalists. Now it's been done in a studio for Grover Records, and to give a simple summary: they probably had lots of fun recording it, and that fun reaches your room through the speakers. A wonderful set of tunes, whether riding a riddim that brings into memory Toots & The Maytals' "Funky Kingston" for Hamburg's Mad Maxamom's "Südhang", or a ska-ified version of the 'Sleng-Teng'-riddim for the former Court Jester's Crew frontmen Spruddy One and Don Rockshah for their "Love Letter". 'Rockfort Rock' is revisited for the rap of Thilo Tiger & Tim Extreme on T'N'T, followed by the little dub sidestep of "Cumbanchero Dub". Next up is the man recording tunes as if he needs to become the German Sizzla or Ele, the omnipresent Dr.Ring-Ding, riding a pure bashment-riddim able to mash up every dance on "Who Wants To Be A Millionaire". "Experimenteller Kram" is a strong hiphop tune by Mo'Tapez, followed by one of France's soundsystem pioneers Skunkhead over a Stalag-version in French "Vibes Dancehall". Old style toasting in the intro to Don Rockshah's "Put On Your Wings" a pretty straightforward reggae track with nice ska horn riffs. "Südstadt Reggae Nr.2" is a very nice German take on the 'My Conversation'-riddim by MC Double J. "Stamina Sound" sounds like a special done for Shake A Leg Sound, nice party vibe by Spruddy One & Don Rockshah here accompanied by Sir Boombastic. Skunkhead returns for "Sensi Medley", probably the weakest track on the album, I expect it to be a killer live, but it lacks power and thus the ability to convince here on record. The playful "TV Dub"" shows what the whole album proves, a great backing band, able to play anything from ska to dancehall to even hiphop, and they do that to the extent that it's easy for the MCs, DJs and singers to get the party going.