Album review
Spear Burning 1975-1979
Burning Spear
Pressure Sounds
CD / 2LP

Tracking list

  1. Burning Spear - Travelling
  2. Burning Spear - Walking (Version)
  3. Burning Spear - Institution (Discomix)
  4. Burning Spear - Natural (Version)
  5. Burning Spear - Free Black People
  6. Burning Spear - Free (Version)
  7. Phillip Fullwood - Thanks & Praises
  8. Phillip Fullwood - Love Everyone
  9. Burning Spear - Spear Burning
  10. Burning Spear - Jomo (Version)
  11. Phillip Fullwood - I Gave You My Word
  12. Phillip Fullwood - Word (Version)
  13. Burning Junior - On That Day
  14. Burning Spear - The Youth
  15. Big Joe & Burning Spear - The Prophet
  16. Burning Spear - Jah No Dead (Discomix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

Pressure Sounds is beside Blood and Fire the leading reggae re-issuer in the UK. On their 33rd release Pressure Sounds puts the spotlight on Burning Spear. Burning Spear needs not further introduction to the reggae lovers, the man from St. Ann's Bay is well known, but what is not so well known are the tunes released on this beautiful CD. All tunes were produced by Spear himself and were recorded after the "Studio One Period", originally released on 7" or 12". It is the first time that these tunes are available on CD or vinyl-album. Besides Burning Spear you can find tunes from Phillip Fullwood, who was actually the bass player for Burning Spear in this time, the D.J. Big Joe and Burning Junior, a vocal group whose only tune they ever recorded is featured on this CD. It is hard to mention outstanding tunes as all of them are on the highest level, however favourites are: "Travelling", which is a version to "Journey", originally recorded at Studio One and as the liner notes marks "...this cut makes the original sound like a demo," followed by the dub version "Walking", and the discomix from "Jah No Dead", which comes real heavy and gives completely different vibes than the version on the "Rockers" soundtrack, where Spear sings this tune to the riddim of the sea. All in all this CD is highly recommended and is a must have for all Spear fans and reggae lovers.

Note: The vinyl version comes with one additional tune, the discomix (appr. 5 min.) to "Free Black People" with a beautiful horn section.

Review provided courtesy of Hubsi