Album review
Spiritual Food
Natural Black
Organic Records

Tracking list

  1. Songs With Feeling
  2. Bad Mind
  3. Spiritual Food
  4. Lef Out
  5. Rising Up
  6. What Happen To The Love
  7. Never Leave U Lonely
  8. Where Have U Been
  9. To My Bonafide
  10. I Miss You
  11. Trying
  12. Free Again
  13. No Bada featuring Big Mountain
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3

Youthful singjay Natural Black, a Guyanese by birth whose real name is Mortimer Duke Softley, discovered his musical talents by performing at yard parties in his native country taking his repertoire from Jamaican stars such as Buju Banton and Beres Hammond. Concluding that staying in Guyana would not be the best thing if one wants to succeed as a reggae artist he thus went to Jamaica in 1995. Facing all odds wheathering the early storms, of hunger, homelessness and culture shock the artist with his new found faith of Rastafarianism moved around with the help of brethren in the Twelves Tribes of Israel. Then he met producer Phillip Hudson who gave him his first break with the single "Early This Morning". Moving from strength to strength he recorded on labels such as "Big Ship", "Harmony House" and "Black Scorpio". Labouring in obscurity for over five years he met his current manager/producer Roger Grant of Organic Records, with whom recorded and released his most successful single to date, "Songs With Feeling". Natural Black, with a vocal delivery reminiscent of top artists such as Sizzla and Capleton, has now dropped his much anticipated debut album "Spiritual Food". This JA pressed album (also avaible on cd) is a fine vocal set featuring a nice mix of roots and lovers many of which that have made appearances previously as 7" singles. Natural Black has delivered a solid album on which he treats the listener to positive and straight music. Included here are standout tunes such as the aforementioned "Songs With Feeling", the awesome "Spiritual Food", the uplifting "Rising Up", the hit single "Never Leave U Lonely", the wonderful "To My Bonafide" and "Free Again". Also riddimwize there's enough to enjoy. Next to fresh original rootical backdrops he performs across well known riddims like for example the one utilized for Warrior King's "Breath Of Fresh Air", a revitalized version of Dennis Brown's "To The Foundation" and the "Bondage aka I Shall Be Released" riddim. A notable debut set worth of picking up by grass roots reggae fans!!

Teacher & Mr. T.