Album review
Spring Time
Semi Sounds
February 10 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Meanwhile In The City
  2. Veden Lumo
  3. Something About Dub
  4. Give A Version
  5. Plastic Ragga
  6. Countryside
  7. Empty Street
  8. Spring Time
  9. Oil On Canvas
  10. Street Style
  11. Raining
  12. All Right
  13. Physical Voice
  14. Free
  15. Good Morning
  16. Documentation (Extended Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Lead Instruments : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

From Finland, situated in northern Europe, comes this debut album from multi-talented instrumentalist Lightman. The latter made a serious impression with his first single "Musical Documentation / Dub Documentation" and its follow up "Shake Before Us / Ugawa", both released in 2003. "Spring Time" contains sixteen instrumentals truly worth of hearing. It's obvious that Lightman, who plays every instrument on this set, is strongly influenced by the works of the late great Augustus Pablo. But even though Lightman's musical outings are reminiscent of "old skool" music we're definitely treated to original music with a contemporary vibe. Of course, it's the melodica that really sounds great and caresses the ear. It mostly plays an important role in expressing the mood of a tune, often supported by a warm bass lines, drivin' percussion patterns and great organ parts. The variety of moods that can be experienced while listening to the tracks of this album can be described with words such as relaxed, cheerful, lively, dark and mind-blowing, to name only a few. Standout tracks on this well produced album are "Veden Lumo", the awesome "Something About Dub", "Countryside", the title track "Spring Time", "Good Morning" and the sublime "Documentation". But also the remaining tracks have their merit and are wellworth checking out.
"Spring Time" is a solid collection of tunes that should not be ignored by fans of instrumental reggae music and in particular those who like Pablo music.

Teacher & Mr. T.