Album review
Station Underground Report
Lee "Scratch" Perry & Niney
Trojan Records
02 - 02 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Deliver Us From Criminals
  2. Chase Dem Down With The Garlic
  3. Set My People Free
  4. Try Again
  5. Station Underground Report
  6. High Grade
  7. De-Programme
  8. Introducing The Upsetter
  9. Phrase Of Mystic Powers
  10. Come Down
  11. Reggae Crossover
  12. Chanting
  13. Straight To Enzo Head
  14. The Winner
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

Producer Niney The Observer (called Niney when he lost a thumb in a workshop accident) has been a singer, producer, engineer, dj, fixer, arranger, manager and virtually everything else in reggae. He was born George Boswell in Montego Bay, Jamaica in 1951.
He has worked with producers Lee Perry, Bunny Lee and Joe Gibbs, before launching his own "Destroyer" label in 1970. Niney's productions of that time are charcterised by their sparse simplicity and heaviness, often cultural/political in sentiment, and frequently espousing Rasta themes. In the seventies he became one of the island's outstanding producers, releasing crucial side by The Ethiopians, Dennis Brown and Max Romeo. He also did a lot of co-production with Lee Perry.
The story of Lee Perry has been told quite often. He started out in the sixties with producer Coxsone Dodd, went to Joe Gibbs and from the late sixties on he began an impressive career as producer, artist, engineer and madman. In 1983 his Black Ark studio burnt down. Since then he has kept recording, producing and performing.
The album 'Station Underground Report' once again brings together these two giants of reggae music, with the tracks voiced at the famed Channel One studio. Produced by Niney, the album gathers 14 (seemingly) new tracks voiced by lee Perry in his own way, with shouts and vocal interjections by Niney. The backing tracks are laid down by Sly and Robbie with the exception of track 8 which was laid by Lyn Taitt & The Jets. Listening to the album you will notice that Niney has used some of his (and Perry's) best backing tracks from the past. The vocal delivery from Scratch is surprisingly straight-forward; he sounds like he did in the eighties. His singjay style is perfectly suited for the riddims and gives the album a unique and fresh feeling. Standouts are "Deliver Us From Criminals", "Try Again", "Station Undergound Report" (a solid version of Perry's "Who Colt The Game"), "High Grade", "Chanting" and "Straight To Enzo Head"

Teacher & Mr. T.