Album review
Stays On My Mind
VP Records-Walboomers Music
24 - 04 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Chemistry
  2. Love We Had Stays On My Mind
  3. Sha-La-La
  4. Frenzy
  5. How Could You
  6. The Way Life Is
  7. Grooviní Out On Life
  8. You Got It Bad
  9. Blaze A Cup
  10. Just Canít Stand The Pain
  11. Iíll Be There For You
  12. Winter World Of Love
  13. Honor Creation
  14. You Want To Know
  15. Incomplete
  16. Love
  17. Discipline Child
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

Sweet-voiced Kevin Anthony Jackson, better known as Sanchez, cut his first sides in the second half of 1987. Already at the beginning of the following year he managed to become the number one singer of love songs in reggae music, underlined by the release of two fine albums : "Loneliness" and "Sweetest Girl". In a short period of time Sanchez became extremely popular amongst the - mainly female - reggae fans and broke big in the U.K. where every single release seemed to be a guarenteed chartbuster. The fans loved him, but there were also many others who underrated his skill and talents because of his singing so many cover songs, which actually resulted in the not so flattering title "King Of Cover". However, throughout his more than one decade spanning career Sanchez has unmistakably made clear that he is also capable of delivering fine self-penned songs, lovers songs as well as reality tunes such as the excellent "South Africa".
Sanchez is back with a new 17 track album reflecting his impact on his legions of female fans Ė aptly titled "Stays On My Mind". For this album Sanchez has broadened the usual range of material to include self penned compositions Frenzy and How Could You, rootical oriented lyrics such as Honor Creation and classic reggae covers Groovin' Out On Life. Furthermore there are also contemporary R&B covers like Incomplete and You Got It Bad that Sanchez has built his legend upon. As usual the album is filled with sweet melodies, superbly arranged and delivered by Sanchez in his well known style, which will attract the romantic reggae fan to the max. The tunes here are produced by longtime musical collaborators Lloyd Campbell who is responsable for 8 tracks, Bobby 'Digital' Dixon who did 4 tunes, Computer Paul, Dean Fraser, Mr. Doo and Michael Green Stewart. Musicians on board include Dalton Browne, Paul "Jazzwad" Yebuah, Paul Crossdale, Dean Fraser, Paul "Limey" Murray, Mafia & Fluxy, Melbourne Miller, Sly Dunbar, Fabian Smith, Robbie Lyn, Chico Chin, and Wilbur Cole.
"Stays On My Mind" is another excellent and well varied album from reggae's top crooner.

Teacher & Mr. T.