Album review
Still Blazin
VP Records-Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Search Fi A Find
  2. Behold featuring Morgan Heritage
  3. Mashing Up The Earth
  4. I Will Survive
  5. Woah "New Way"
  6. Punchline 2 Hit
  7. Caan Tan Yah
  8. Hail King Selassie featuring Luciano
  9. Cooyah Cooyah
  10. Pure Woman
  11. Boom Sound
  12. How It Ago
  13. Guerilla Warfare
  14. Red, Red, Red
  15. In Your Eyes
  16. Mi De Yah
  17. Jah Gonna Work It Out featuring Glen Washington
  18. I & I Chant
  19. Gimme De Woman (hidden bonustrack)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

For more than a decade by now Clifton Bailey aka Capleton has been playing a significant role in reggae business. When he emerged at the beginning of the nineties he was one of the slackest of deejays around, but already two years later he started to turn to cultural themes. He then soon made a shift in attitude when singles like "Almshouse", "Prophet" and "Mankind" became massive hits. In recent years his dominance in reggae dancehall has grown to iconic levels as can be witnessed by his numerous hit singles and the rave reviews of his awesome "More Fire" album from two years ago.
"Still Blazin" follows up this well sold and highly acclaimed "More Fire" set and again one is treated to an equally sensational collection from the one they call "The Phophet". Of course, "Still Blazin" strongly emphasizes on the cultural side of modern reggae music, but on the other hand it also features some of Capleton's more hardcore oriented dancehall outings like for example the wicked "Rice & Peas" cut "Whoa New Day" and "Guerilla Warfare". Thus this brand new full length album will be appreciated by fans who like both sides of this artist, but most of all it will thrill those who prefer to hear Capleton performing modern roots & culture. They definitely will be blown away when hearing tracks like the roots epic "Mashing Up The Earth", "I Will Survive", "Red "Red, Red", "Search Fi A Find" and the three combination tunes "Behold" (feat. Morgan Heritage), "Hail King Selassie" (feat. Luciano) and "Jah Is Gonna Work It Out" (feat. Glen Washington), without a shadow of doubt all excellent efforts. Noteworthy is the fact that Capleton is seemingly stretching his vocal style as can be experienced in tunes like "Search Fi A Find", "Behold", "Hail King Selassie" and especially "In Your Eyes". Instead of his usual raw, growling vocal delivery he performs in a more melodic singjay style, which actually works very well. Due to the fact that great attention is paid to the music and arrangements this CD maintains a high quality level from beginning to end. It's the combination of real musicians - including Mafia & Fluxy, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Sly & Robbie, Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace, Christopher Birch and Dean Fraser - and computerized drum patterns, utilized on most of the tracks, that create an appealing, accessible roots sound.
"Still Blazin" is an outstanding album, highly recommended and thus well worth purchasing!

Teacher & Mr. T.