Album review
Three Points
The Stingers ATX
Grover Records
08 - 09 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Belly Rubbin'
  2. Stop Thinkin'
  3. Rock & Ska
  4. What A Wonderful Dub
  5. Rock & Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

The Stingers ATX, from Austin/Texas, are around since 1998 and play a unique and charismatic mixture, which mainly consists of rocksteady, enriched with a blend of traditional ska, doo-wop and soul. The Stingers came into spotlight touring the USA with such bands as The Slackers or Neville Staples from the Specials. In Europe The Stingers ATX became known with the release of the album "This Good Thing" on Grover Records and their extensive European tour in 2002. Now The Stingers ATX are back with the EP "Three Points" containing three new studio tracks. The EP also contains two dub versions by long-time friend and well-known producer Victor Rice (whose "In America" has been reviewed here). "Belly Rubbin'" is a tune switching between the romantic verses and the stomping ska of the chorus that clearly invites to sing-a-long. "Stop Thinkin'" has a great trombone in an uptempo skasong that with its guitar-riff reminds me a lot of the 2-Tone style. "Rock & Ska" is a horn driven uptempo party ska tune with a sudden switch into a few bars of 'one drop'-reggae that is sure to get anyone's feet moving. On "What A Wonderful Dub" and "Rock & Dub" the band's sound gets the full dub treatment in slowed-down heavy mixes by Victor Rice. This EP is a great teaser for a forthcoming full length followup to "This Good Thing".