Street Knowledge
Anthony B
On The Corner-Walboomers Music
March 28, 2003

Track list
  1. Two 7 Clash feat. Culture
  2. Police
  3. God Above Everything
  4. Revelation
  5. Laws For the Rich
  6. First Start
  7. Ghettoman Do That
  8. World Free feat. Doniki
  9. Dancing Mood
  10. Key To Heart feat. Courtney Melody
  11. Wine And Roses
  12. Change Of Weather
  13. Good Cop & Bad Cop
  14. Don't Buss Your Gun
  15. Gun Powder
  16. Pass The Kutchi feat. Mighty Diamonds
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Bobo dread Anthony B made his recording debut in 1993, when he voiced a single in combination with singer Little Devon. However, his musical story really started when he was introduced to producer Richard "Bello" Bell of the "Star Trail" label. Inspired by Peter Tosh Anthony B has been recording songs of social commentary and controversy since the mid-nineties. Although he doesn’t enjoy quite the same high profile as Capleton and Sizzla, Anthony B is widely regarded as one of the most lyrical of all Jamaican artists. Thanks to his extensive touring schedule which brought him to large audiences outside Jamaica, Anthony B has managed to become one of the most prominent representatives of the new Jamaican conscious movement.

The album 'Street Knowledge' is an extremely strong collection songs, most of them previously released as 7 inches, produced by various producers. Steely & Clevie are responsible for the revamped version of Two Sevens Clash which he does with the original artist Joseph Hill of Culture. The son of King Jammy, Lloyd 'John John' James, produced the tune Police, which comes across the 'Tonight" aka 'Lots of Sign' riddim. God Above Everything is a particular strong roots tune across a Treasure Isle riddim and produced by ace producer Bobby 'Digital' Dixon. Studio One riddims galore here, check out the uptempo killer tune Laws For the Rich utilizing the 'Queen Of The Minstrel' riddim, Anthony's twisted and paced up rendition of Delroy Wilson's Dancing Mood and the 'Full Up' riddim, here delivered in combination with The Mighty Diamonds, who enjoyed magnificent chart success with this tune in the early eighties. At the end of 2002 Bobby Konders of Massive B Records released a bunch of fine 45's across the resuscitated 'Tempo' riddim, and Anthony's lick of the riddim, Change Of Weather, is a real standout tune. Fire Starter is yet another highlight on the album, just like Ghetto Man Do That a song riding the 'Money In My Pocket' riddim. Doniki joins Anthony for the freedom tune Break Free.

Trust us... buy this album, it's our 'Best Of AB album' for 2003!