Album review
Scientist And Jammy Strike Back !
Roots Radics Band :
Trojan Records

Tracking list

  1. Storming the Death star
  2. Mission impossible
  3. The alien aborts
  4. Buck Rogers in the black hole
  5. The death of Mr. Spock
  6. The Princess takes her revenge
  7. The crushing of the Stormtroopers
  8. Flash Gordon meets Luke Skywalker
  9. The Son of Darth Vader
  10. C-3PO + R2-D2 = The Force
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

"By the early eighties the popularity of dub was very much on the decline with a new generation of dj's and singers increasingly influencing the sound and style of Jamaican music. The complete demise of the genre was prevented primarily by the work of two of the finest sound engineers of their generation : Scientist and Prince Jammy."
In 1980 Linval Thompson released the clash album "Scientist versus Prince Jammy", and because of the popularity of this album he released a second clash album in 1982 called "Scientist and Jammy Strike Back !". The titles refer to the popular "Star Wars / Star Trek" movies of that time. All tracks were mixed by Prince jammy at King Tubby's , except for the tracks 2, 3 and 10 which were mixed by Scientist at Channel One studios.
On the album you'll find dub versions of tracks by Freddie McGregor (Big Ship, Rootsman Skanking) , Barrington Levy (Rob and Gone) and Linval Thompson (You're Young, Baby Mother). "Strike Back" is an high-profile dub set, filled with slow, sparse and somewhat psychedelic dubs. Excellent re-release !

Teacher & Mr. T.