Album review
RAS Portraits...Sugar Minott
Sugar Minott

Tracking list

  1. Ain't nobody move me
  2. Sprinter stayer
  3. Run things
  4. Herbsman hustling
  5. Dancehall fever
  6. Devil's pickney
  7. Gun gang
  8. Ramdance master
  9. International herbalist
  10. A just rasta
  11. Break free
  12. Rub a dub sound
  13. Heads of conference
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

RAS Records presents a new series of midprice CD's called "RAS Portraits..." This Sugar Minott compilation collects tracks from the following three albums: "Sugar and spice", "Breaking free" and "International", with the addition of a track taken from the sampler "Best of the best vol. 2". Sugar Minott, the granddaddy of all dancehall singers - even dancehall daddys like Barrington Levy came much later - is one of Jamaica's most respected singers, due to his consistency of delivery. He's a conscious roots reggae singer whose hits span raggamuffin, lovers and broader themes. As always it's Sugar's voice - controlled, captivating and uncontrived - that is the feature instrument on this excellent set, which is a tasty mix of "old style" and new.

More Sugar Minott reviews :
Collector's Collection Vol. 1
Jet Star Reggae Max : Sugar Minott

Teacher & Mr. T.