Album review
Sun Is Shining
Bob Marley
Trojan Records
2 CD

Tracking list

    Disc One

  1. Soul Almighty
  2. Duppy Conqueror
  3. Put It On
  4. My Cup
  5. Rebel's Hop
  6. Stand Alone
  7. Cornerstone
  8. Keep On Moving
  9. Lively Up Yourself
  10. All In One
  11. One In All
  12. Mr. Brown
  13. Brain Washing
  14. Trenchtown Rock
  15. Adam And Eve
  16. Brand New Second Hand
  17. African Herbsman
  18. This Train
  19. Jah Is Mighty
  20. Fussing And Fighting

    Disc Two

  21. Small Axe
  22. More Axe
  23. Thank You Lord
  24. Keep On Skanking
  25. Soul Rebel
  26. Wisdom
  27. Mr. Chatterbox
  28. Sun Is Shining
  29. Turn Me Loose
  30. Shocks Of Mighty Pt. 1 With Lee Perry
  31. Shocks Of Mighty Pt. 2 With Lee Perry
  32. Don't Rock The Boat
  33. Run For Cover
  34. Man To Man (Who The Cap Fit)
  35. Kaya
  36. Long Long Winter
  37. Rainbow Country
  38. Dreamland
  39. 400 Years
  40. Down Presser
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3 Sleeve : 3/4

"Sun Is Shining" is one out of many compilation sets filled with late sixties and early seventies recordings from Bob Marley & The Wailers - actually the original Wailers - that were released after Robert Nesta Marley's untimely death in 1981. Not quite that coincidental as the aforementioned period includes the couple of extremely prolific years with legendary and excentric producer Lee "Scratch" Perry. Many of the tunes cut with Scratch were to be re-recorded on Bob Marley's "solo" albums, which were released by Island/Tuff Gong, thus more or less confirming that this was the most creative period in the career of Bob Marley. Included are My Cup the first song the Wailers cut for Lee Perry, the medley of their Studio One hits "All In One", early versions of "Kaya, Lively Up Yourself" and "Trenchtown Rock", the gospel versions of "This Train" and "Thank You Lord", the excellent "Wisdom" - later known as "Stiff Necked Fools" and "Fools Die" - and the Bunny Lee produced "Mr. Chatterbox" and many, many more of the same high quality standard.
A fine collection of timeless Wailers' tunes, although probably most of the songs that are included on this double CD set will be very familiar to everyone involved in reggae music.

Teacher & Mr. T.