Album review
Superior EP
Four Music-Bushhouse Music-Sony
August 16, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Superior
  2. Superior (Dub Mix)
  3. Superior (Version)
  4. Overjoyed
  5. Do The Right Thing
  6. Jah Guide The City
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

"Superior", over the Pow Pow riddim that it gave its name, is the first single drawn from Gentleman's just released album "Confidence", and it is one of the best of the 10 excellent tunes Pow Pow Movements' Ingo Rheinbay released on the superb 'Superior'-riddim. Here this excellent conscious tune is accompanied by its dub mix, and the clean riddim version, and this alone is enough to recommendate buying this Maxi-CD for me, but it's even better than that, because 3 tracks not included on "Confidence" are present on it as well. "Overjoyed" is Gentleman's take on the Swedish Hi-Score Music 'Leader'-riddim, built by Kent 'Chilly' Westerberg & Pontus 'Prince B' Pålsson, that was also voiced by Sizzla, Anthony B., Lady Saw, Tony Curtis, Jah Mason, Nitty Kutchie and Angel Doolas. It's a very fine tribute to the girl that makes Gentleman feel this good when she's around. "Do The Right Thing" is a convincing conscious track over a rootsy Trevor Bonnick (former Bloodfire Posse member, hence no surprise to hear Dalton Browne on guitar) riddim. "Jah Guide The City" is another Brownes featuring tune, recorded at Richard 'Shams' Browne's B-Rich Recording Studio in Kingston, with Shams playing bass and keyboards and Robert 'Dubwise' Browne contributing drums, guitars and additional keyboards. Excellent tunes that make one wonder if Gentleman had enough material that was strong enough to release "Confidence" as a double album. This "Superior" single propelled Pow Pow's riddim and Gentleman's vocals to the number 31 position in the German Pop Charts already, and to the number 1 spot in the German DBC Reggae Charts.