Album review
Super Vocal & Dub Session
Improvisators Dub
Vicious Circle
01 - 09 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Truths And Right
  2. Truths And Dub
  3. Warmonger Men
  4. Warmonger Dub
  5. Need More Love
  6. Need More Dub
  7. Improvisators Dub Stylee
  8. Stylee Dub
  9. Sitar Man Rock
  10. Sitar Man Dub
  11. Dirty Babylon
  12. Dirty Dub
  13. Come Rain Come Shine
  14. Come Rain Come Dub
  15. Soul Piper
  16. Soul Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

From the French label Vicious Circle comes this entertaining roots album "Super Vocal & Dub Session" by Improvisators Dub. The band is known for its original style delivered with traditional instruments (sitar, harmonium, flutes...) and linked by a skanking guitar over a powerful riddim section. Their debut EP was produced by Junior Delgado in London and the album "Super Vocal and Dub Session" is enlightened by the contribution of MC Jonah Dan (Bush Chemist / Disciples) and singer Danny Vibes - a young 20-year old humble lion. Both artists follow the steps of the drum and bass UK Roots & Culture tradition and blend perfectly with Improvisators Dub's original dub stylee. Here you will find seven vocal pieces, each followed by the dub version. The last two tunes are instrumental pieces, which reminds us of the Far East sound of the late great Augustus Pablo. Out of the powerful rootical tracks on the album we picked some favorite tunes. First there's vocalist Jonah Dan, who mashes up Babylon Head in the steppers tune Dirty Babylon. Danny Vibes is at his best on Need More Love, and his tune Come Rain Come Shine is a solid piece of roots music. Jonah Dan returns with a strong toast called Improvisators Dub Stylee. The two vocalists join forces on the track Truths And Rights, a great tune worth of hearing.
You will love this album, especially if you're a UK roots fan!

Teacher & Mr. T.