Album review
Macka B.

Tracking list

  1. Suspicious
  2. Same old story
  3. Garvey story
  4. Rasta rise again
  5. Hi li hi li hi
  6. African and proud
  7. Roots is in town
  8. Guardian angel
  9. Wake up call
  10. Family man
  11. Mad cow
  12. Road rage
  13. Same old story (Dougie Digital remix)
  14. Suspicious (Dougie Digital remix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

With tracks recorded in both U.K. (Ariwa & Are We Mad Studios) and Jamaica (Tuff Gong & Grove Studios) the show belongs to Macka B., who never lacks a lyric whether he uses a well-known nursery rhyme or deals with one of his familiar topics, taking a different look at people who change their skin colour to achieve success. Conscious vibes abound on tracks like "Garvey Story" & "Rasta Rise Again" and in some tunes Macka B. blurs the line between singer and deejay. Most of the riddims are laid down "live" using real drums and bass. This latest effort of U.K. MC Macka B. is certainly enjoyable, however in the whole range he can't fully live up to expectations with this follow-up to his truly excellent "Hold On To Your Culture" album. Included as a kind of bonus (?) are hip hop remixes done by Dougie Digital.

Teacher & Mr. T.