Album review
Sustraidun Roots Dub
Massive Sounds Records

Tracking list

  1. Ministerio del dub (Ministry of dub)
  2. El secuestro del dub (The kidnapping of dub)
  3. Mandella
  4. Fade away dub
  5. Raggamatic soundclash
  6. Satta amasaganna
  7. Praises dub (Dub plate mix) (Dub Judah mix)
  8. Tributo a King Tubby
  9. Peace, love and unity
  10. Txalaparta steppers dub
  11. Txori txikia (Little bird)
  12. El fin de la tregua (The end of the truth)
  13. Basquedelic one drop
  14. Codigo nazareno
  15. Dub abstracto (Abstract dub)
  16. Dub contra M.T.V. (Mad Professor mix)
  17. Dicrimination possitiva (Mad Professor mix)
  18. Memories
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

B.D.F. stands for "Basque Dub Foundation", a musical collective based in Bilbao (Basque, Northern Spain). With "Sustraidun Roots Dub" (meaning "Rootical Roots Dub") they deliver a truly solid effort with this very first Dub Reggae album to come out of Spain. As its title more or less implies "Sustraidun Roots Dub" features mainly contemporary "roots dub" delivered in a mix of original material and some instrumental covers of roots classics like Joe White's early 70's classic "Kenyatta", the Abyssinians' anthem "Satta amasaganna" or Augustus Pablo's timeless "Cassava piece".
The spirit of the original Jamaican 70's dub, the aesthetic of the 90's U.K. digital dub and a strong dose of traditional Spanish and Basque melodies are the main ingredients of a more than interesting, intrigueing and expansive dub album (74 minutes playing time). Especially the original material is delightful and sometimes baffling. It is delivered so diverse and so skillfully that it is a real "treat for the ear". Between the wealth of dub reissues and new dub releases like this one, a veritable dub explosion is making new converts daily and supplying a seemingly endless amount of this once hard-to-find cornerstone element of reggae.

Teacher & Mr. T.