Album review
Sweep Over My Soul
Xterminator/Jet Star

Tracking list

  1. Can't Stop Jah Music
  2. Sweep Over My Soul
  3. Hold Strong
  4. Final Call
  5. Poor Youths
  6. Jonah
  7. You Can
  8. Talking Bout Featuring Morgan Heritage
  9. Ulterior Motive
  10. When Man On Earth
  11. When Will I Be Home
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The man now called Luciano - which means the bearer of light - was born Jepther Washington McClymont in Davey Town, Jamaica on December 20, 1974. At the age of 17 he made his first recordings for producer Earl Hughes, but it was with Sky High from Mau Mau Productions that he got the opportunity to release his work on an album, although under the name Luciana. His Sky High produced material can be found on two albums: "Stuck On You (a combination album with another young singer called Presley) and "Don't Get Crazy". After working with Sky High he moved on to Castro Brown's "New Name" label before he teamed up with reggae vet Freddie McGregor, which resulted in the release of an album entitled "Shake It Up Tonight" aka "After All".
However, his real breakthrough came when he met "Xterminator" label head and producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell. It was a series of trend-defying "Xterminator" singles that pushed his career in the right direction as they made his name and fame grow. It actually resulted in the release of his first "Xterminator" album "Moving Up". In the years that followed Luciano rose to the top and undoubtedly became one of the major forces in developing modern cultural music. Luciano's associaton with Phillip "Fatis" Burrell and musicians like Sly & Robbie, The Firehouse Crew and Dean Fraser played an important role in Luciano's stages of development, which ultimately led to his signing with Island-Jamaica and the release of some thirty-five singles and three acclaimed albums.
Unlike his two well polished albums for Island-Jamaica "Sweep Over My Soul" - the follow up to his Island-Jamaica release "Messenger" - has a more rougher rootical sound. Luciano's powerful voice glides over the rock-solid riddims laid by the Xterminator Crew consisting of Sly Dunbar, Donald Dennis, Robbie Lyn, Melbourne Miller, Steven Stanley, Winston Bowen, Dean Fraser and Luciano himself. This album collects a compelling blend of fresh material and former singles. The latter includes one of his best ever performances, the epic hymn Sweep Over My Soul as well as Final Call - one of Luciano's tuffest singles - across one of those patented trashing, dubwise Xterminator mixes. Also included are the superb reality tune Poor Youths, the thumping stepper Jonah on an overhauled do-over of Leroy Smart's old Channel One chestnut "Ballistic affair" and the wonderful conscious tune "Ulterior Motive", delivered across the infectious "Stealing" riddim.
The remaining six tracks - previously unreleased elsewhere - are all gems in their own right and match the high-quality standards of the aforementioned tried and trusted hits. Can't Stop Jah Works is the legitimate opener of this album. It's a poetical song - utilizing the same riddim as Sizzla's "Til It Some More" - with Luciano alternately speaking and singing his appealing lyrics. The spiritual uplifting Hold Strong is a truly excellent effort that once again displays Luciano's ability to write and sing an anthemic tune. At first sight the uptempo You Can seems to be a light-hearted tune, however the encouraging lyrics of this message tune speak for themselves. Talk bout - the combination song with Morgan Heritage - is an awesome cut, a real killer tune ! "When man on earth has done his best, all he can do is leave the rest to the hands of time" are the first words from the chorus of When Man On Earth, another astonishing cut across a great echo-laden riddim. The last fresh song - the yearning, deeply contemplative "When Will I Be Home" - is also the last track of a truly superb contemporary album. Strongly recommend to all roots fans !!!

More Luciano reviews :
Moving Up
Jet Star Reggae Max ~ Luciano

Teacher & Mr. T.