Swinging Bridge
The Congos
November 13, 2006

Track list
  1. Revolution
  2. Spiritual Organisation
  3. Lost Sheep
  4. Swinging Bridge
  5. National Heroes
  6. Ten Million Chariots
  7. Concrete Zone
  8. Black Market Babies
  9. Teachers Teach
  10. Fraud System
  11. La Le Bella
  12. Questions
  13. Beatles Come
  14. Hills & Valley
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Nearly three decades after the release of their debut album, "Heart Of The Congos", the avid Congos fan is finally treated to a truly worthy successor of that bonafide classic roots reggae album. "Swinging Bridge" brings together the voices of the original Congos -- Cedric Myton, Roydel Johnson and Watty Burnett -- that originally blended together to record their masterpiece "Heart Of The Congos" at the legendary Black Ark studio with genius producer Lee "Scratch" Perry, way back in 1977. Since the release of that glorious album, The Congos -- whether as a group with various line-ups or as solo acts -- have tried to create a matching follow-up album, but they never managed to deliver an album that fully lived up to expectations raised by the ever-increasing legend surrounding their "Heart Of The Congos" set. In 2005, Young Tree Records released "Give Them The Rights", a strong solo album from Cedric Myton, followed by the earlier this year released "Cock Mouth Kill Cock aka Feast". The latter, containing fruits of sessions conducted between Cedric Myton and vintage producer Bunny "Striker" Lee, is a most heartfelt and meaningful set with Cedric Myton's inimitable falsetto shining bright. However despite the strength of these two (solo) albums it's the long overdue comeback of the original 1977 Congos line-up on (compact) disc that will encourage the listener to forget the unforgettable. Cedric Myton (falsetto), Watty Burnett (bariton), Roydel Johnson (tenor) and additional member Kenroy Fyffe (alt) -- backed by some of the most experienced Jamaican session musicians including Sly & Robbie's Taxi Gang, the Roots Radics and a horns section led by veteran Deadly Headly -- recapture the magic with a selection of tracks that more than stand up to the high standards created by "Heart Of The Congos". "Swinging Bridge" opens in real fine style with the single "Revolution" and furthermore contains genuine highlights like the core triptych of "Black Market Babies", "Lost Sheep" and "Fraud System". Other tracks worth of hearing are "Spiritual Organisation", "National Heroes", the beautiful "Hills And Valleys", and "Teachers Teach", perhaps the most accessible tune included here.

NOTE: The first thousand copies of this album are presented with a gatefold sleeve and include an extra booklet.