Tarrus Riley
VP Records
December 25, 2006

Tarrus Riley - Parables Track list
  1. System Set
  2. Haunt You
  3. Beware
  4. Micro Chip
  5. One Two Order
  6. Stay With You
  7. She's Royal
  8. Something Strong
  9. Lion Paw
  10. Parables
  11. Africa Awaits
  12. Pick Up The Pieces
  13. Let Love Live feat. Duane Stephenson
  14. Family feat. Della Manley
  15. My Baby
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5
Tarrus Riley's sophomore album is called "Parables". Tarrus Riley is among the crop of Jamaican singer/songwriters defining the sounds of today's roots reggae music, with analytical lyrics embracing Rasta teachings and his heartfelt romantic delivery. He's the son of famed reggae vocalist Jimmy Riley. Tarrus wrote and produced the album together with reggae icon and saxophonist Dean Fraser. The all star band includes: Sly Dunbar, Robbie Shakespeare, Robbie Lyn, Paul "Scooby" Smith, Glen Browne and others. The songs were recorded at Tuff Gong Jamaica and Grafton Studios.

The album kicks off with Tarrus's first hit single System Set, a sweet and nice tune. The guitar influenced Haunt You lets you sing along quite easy. The surprising Micro Chip tells us that we are depending too much on the machinery. The fast paced One Two Order makes Tarrus really shine. Furthermore he did a nice job on a remake of the John Legend penned Stay With You. The slower tune Lion Paw, with its wise words, truly stands out. My previous reviewed 'one riddim' sampler "King Juggler" features Tarrus Riley's "Read Between The Lines", but it's actually this album's title track Parables, a truly sweet tune. From the fast "Irits riddim" into the slow "Reflection" with Africa Awaits. Yet another strong outing is Family, a duet with with Della Manley. The album rounds off with a bedtime story called My Baby.

A nice album, showing that Tarrus Riley definitely inherited some of his father's talents.