Album review
The Truth
RAS Records-Munich
23 - 08 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. The Truth
  2. Dirty Ways
  3. What I Want
  4. Fire Bun Dem
  5. Id Rather Be
  6. More Effort
  7. Addicted
  8. Been Good To Me
  9. On My Nerve
  10. Saturate Yourself In My Arms
  11. Babylon Cruelty
  12. Love At First Sight
  13. Selassie I
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

It looks like the year 2003 will mark the definite breakthrough of Turbulence aka Sheldon Campbell as he strikes again with "The Truth", his fourth full length release this year, following up the appreciated "Different Thing" set and "The Future". This is Turbulence's third album for Xterminator producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell, Jamaica's ace producer who has been instrumental in breaking new Jamaican artists and also the one that discovered this exciting young Rasta singjay some years ago. With "Fatis" in the production chair and excellent musicians such as Donald Dennis, Sly Dunbar, Melbourne Miller, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Chris Meredith, Robbie Lynn and Paul Crossdale on board this simply has to be an album well worth of hearing. And indeed, it is! The listener is treated to a very enjoyable collection of tunes, all expertly produced and benefitting from the well laid, mostly original riddim tracks. Turbulence, who has forged a reputation for himself amongst many roots fans for his penetrating lyrics and steadfast righteous stance, rides the riddims with ease and also vocally and lyrically he shows that he's in good shape. Outstanding tunes are the modest title track "The Truth", the awesome "Fire Bun Dem", the rootsy "I'd Rather Be", the lover's tune "Been Good To Me" and the impressive "Selassie I". Pretty sure that this album will be enjoyed by Turbulence's steadily increasing fanbase, and also by those who like artists like Sizzla, Jah Cure and Jah Mason.

Teacher & Mr. T.