Album review
Techno Party
Lee "Scratch" Perry & Mad Professor
27 - 11 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Techno Dub
  2. Mental War
  3. Dub Dread
  4. Old Man Dub
  5. Call Me Dub
  6. Buster Dub
  7. Herb Dub
  8. Rapa Dub
  9. Dub Party
  10. Crooked Dub
  11. Dub Dread
  12. Puffy Dub
  13. Earhquake Dub
  14. Ghetto Dub
  15. The Jungle Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

During the first two years of the new millennium reggae's "granddad" Lee Scratch Perry and his regular partner in sounds, Neil Fraser aka Mad Professor, have been touring extensively. This may have been the main reason why it took so long... but at last... Ariwa Sounds have unleashed the dub companion to Lee Scratch Perry's "Techno Party", which was released in the Spring of 2000. On this much anticipated set Mad Professor presents his further adventures in dub space. It's the next chapter of the never ending story of a dub genius who is obsessively seeking for weird elements in electronic sound and mixing style in order to thrill his listeners. The vocal set brought us Lee P's inimitable stream-of-consciousness ramblings over a well varied mix of "Goa-esque Trance", Drum & Bass, Reggae, Dub and Trip Hop outings. Those who really enjoyed the "Techno Party" CD will be delighted with Mad Professor's dub treatment of that particular collection of tunes as it once again brings them a sometimes bizarre yet enjoyable album. Fat basslines, lots of reverb, a thick treble overlayer in a number of tracks and snatches of Sratch's vocals floating in and out of the mix are included on this surprisingly accessible dance dub album. All in all Mad Professor and Mr. Perry - although there's no information regarding his involvement in the mixing of the dubs - have succeeded in making a strange brew that sticks in your musical brain!!

Teacher & Mr. T.