Album review
The Album
Giuliano Palma And The BlueBeaters
King Size Records
29- 11 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. See You Tonite
  2. Believe
  3. How Many Times
  4. I Don't Know Why I Love (But I Do)
  5. Stop Making Love
  6. I Don't Want To See You Crying
  7. Wonderful Life
  8. World's Fair
  9. Coming In From The Cold
  10. Gimme A Little Sign
  11. Tell Me
  12. Let Him Try
  13. Desperate Lover
  14. There's A Reward
  15. Shot In The Dark
  16. Never Never Never
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

Out of Milano comes the sound of young Italy provided by Giuliano Palma And The BlueBeaters, who perform a music which started some 40 years in the West Indies, at the wonderful island of Jamaica, where it was simply called Ska (or Blue Beat, derived from Emil Shallit's record label which released around 600 Prince Buster productions between 1962-1967). The word Ska can be considered as a sort of reflection of the way the guitars were played and the riddim stamped.
Talking about authentic Ska one should take time to listen to this outfit. Started as a joke in 1994, the BlueBeaters now consist of musicians recruted from three Italian bands who were already playing Jamaican music, however in different directions. Giuliano Palma, Fernandino Masi and Patrick Benifei were active with Casino Royale. Bunna, Parpaglione and Cato were involved in Africa Unite and Fratelli di Solided was a member of Zorro. Their CD "The album" contains the band's interpretations of classic Ska, Reggae and Rocksteady tunes as well as revisitations in up-beat of US soul and rythm&blues gems. All the riddims are played "live" and sound really fine and well-balanced. Giuliano Palma a.k.a. "The King" showcases that he's a fine singer who is able to perform in English without having trouble of an annoying accent, a problem that often occurs with performers who were not raised with the English tongue.
Giuliano Palma And The BlueBeaters have delivered an entertaining 16 track album with great and unforgettable memories of the past brought in a contemporary setting. Very enjoyable !!

Teacher & Mr. T.