Album review
The Heavy, Heavy Monster Sounds Of Dave & Ansel Collins
Dave & Ansel Collins
Beatville Records/Munich

Tracking list

  1. Double Barrel
  2. El Fegobacca
  3. Wild Bunch
  4. Secret Weapon
  5. My Best Girl
  6. Ten To One
  7. Monkey Spanner
  8. I The Third
  9. Impossible Mission
  10. Glory Of Love
  11. That Love
  12. Memories Of Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

Way back in 1971 the occasional duo Dave & Ansel Collins - consisting of deejay/singer Dave Barker and keyboards player Ansel Collins - gained worldwide recognition when producer Winston Riley released their blockbusting chart topper "Double Barrel", an infectious instrumental that was enlivened by Barker's early toasting style that actually was reminiscent of the kind of shouts James Brown used to express in his performances. Dave Barker not only had the toasting skills of a deejay, he was a fine singer as well (he was a member of the vocal group The Techniques after all). His soulful vocals are captured on two tracks: the excellent My Best Girl and That Girl, a tune that got a notable cover version by Freddie McGregor. However, the album emphasizes on the soul-groove instrumentals including the "Double Barrel" sound-alike follow-ups Monkey Spanner, I The Third and Glory Of Love. "The Heavy, Heavy Monster Sounds Of Dave & Ansel Collins" - a fine example of the early fusion of reggae and soul - features such fine musicians like Tommy McCook, Lloyd Brevett, Sly & Robbie, and Lyn Taitt.

NOTE: This album was originally released by U.S.-based Big Tree Records and previously reissued on CD as "Double Barrel: Original Yard Classics" by RAS Records.

Teacher & Mr. T.