Album review
The Mighty Morwells Presents...
Gregory Isaacs
Charm-Jet Star
28 - 10 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. You Dissed Me
  2. Saddam
  3. Can't Stay Away
  4. High School Dance
  5. Easy Life
  6. Uncertain
  7. Goosey Gaunder
  8. Lonely Tear Drops
  9. Touch And Go
  10. You're Divine
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

Blessed with unequalled songwriting abilities and (still) a sweet sensual voice, Gregory Isaacs will never be far from the forefront of reggae music as can be witnessed on this album. The producer is Blacka Morwell, one of the original founding members of The Morwells. When we received this cd, we also heard that Blacka Morwell had passed away.
After spinning this cd a couple of times I was really impressed ! Here's the Gregory Isaacs we all love to hear : sweet and sensual, voicing the tunes with his fragile voice. Except for Saddam all of the songs are lovers tunes, and that's what Gregory Isaacs can do best. The album collects some of his best outings (and he has had a few over the years !) from the last 10 years or so. I guess these tunes are all from the nineties, probably also from the late eighties.
After the heartbreaking You Dissed Me comes the aforementioned Saddam, a tune dealing with the wrongdoeings of president Saddam. Can't Stay Away shows Gregory in top form and High School Dance is a nice dancing tune. Easy Life is the weakest tune on the album. The rest of the tunes are excellent lovers tunes, standout tracks being You're Divine, Uncertain and Lonely Teardrops.
The backing is provided by the Roots Radics, Sly and Robbie and The Taxi Gang.

Teacher & Mr. T.