Album review
The miseducation of Lauryn Hill
Lauryn Hill

Tracking list

  1. Intro
  2. Lost Ones
  3. Ex-Factor
  4. To Zion Featuring Carlos Santana
  5. Doo-Wop (That Thing)
  6. Superstar
  7. Final Hour
  8. When It Hurts So Bad
  9. I Used To Love Him Featuring Mary J. Blige
  10. Forgive Them Father
  11. Every Ghetto, Every City
  12. Nothing Even Matters Featuring D'Angelo
  13. Everything Is Everything
  14. The Miseducation Of Lauryn Hill
  15. Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You Hidden Bonustrack
  16. Tell Him Hidden Bonustrack
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

As L-Boogie Lauryn Hill achieved world fame together with Wyclef Jean and Pras Michel as the Fugees. They sold 17 million copies of their album "The score", had an international number one hit with the cover of Roberta Flack's "Killing me softly" and grabbed two Grammy's for their number one hit and their album. Whilst Wyclef and Pras started other projects like solo albums and a lots of remixes, Lauryn gave birth to her son Zion. The father is Rohan Marley, son of reggae ambassador Robert Nesta Marley. In the meantime she produced her solo debut-album which has been recorded in both New York and Kingston, Jamaica. "The miseducation of..." is a nice mix and blend of raw hiphop, superb soul and smooth reggae. The first single of the album, the excellent Doo-wop (that thing), is one of the tracks recorded in the Marley Music Studios at 56 Hope Road in Kingston and features Dean Fraser and Nambo Robinson. On Lost ones Lauryn gives us a Jamaican flavoured hiphop tune based on Toots Hibbert's "Bam bam" and on "Forgive them father" - with a guest appearance by Shelley Thunder - she uses the riddim of Bob Marley & The Wailers' "Concrete Jungle". Lyrically this album is a little personal masterpiece that is coming straight out of Lauryn's heart. Probably the most personal and nicest song is To Zion with Carlos Santana on guitar. "But everybody told me to be smart / look at your career they said / Lauryn, baby use your head / but instead I chose to use my heart / now the joy of my world is in Zion" she sings. Another personal favourite is the hidden bonustrack Tell me. The other bonustrack - a cover of Boys Town Gang's Can't take my eyes off of you will turn out to be a big international smash hit. Lauryn delivers a very strong album here, which can be taken as an example by a lot of her male colleagues. As far as the sleeve of this album concerns it's truly a pity that this is a weak blueprint of Bob Marley & The Wailers' album "Burnin'".

Danny "Pepperseed" Bouten