The Pressure Is On
Tsuni Records
July 25, 2005

Track list
  1. The Pressure Is On
  2. Zion Is Home
  3. Feel So Right
  4. In My World
  5. Light In You
  6. When Dem Come featuring Glen Washington)
  7. Ancient Woman
  8. Mama
  9. Buss Dem Brain
  10. Ganja
  11. I Tried
  12. Live What U Talk
  13. No Limitation
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The debut cd of Pressure -- real name Delyno Brown, born on St. Thomas, Virgin Islands, on the fifth day of August 1981 -- is called "The Pressure Is On". After having spinned the album for several times now it's obvious that this debut set -- filled with fiery, concious lyrics and riddims -- exceeds most expectations of a regular debut cd. Pressure's vocal style reminds us of Jamaican artists like Sizzla and Turbulence, but he certainly isn't a copy cat, he has an exceptional fresh style of his own.

Track number one, the title track, hits full force no musical preludes or unnecessary rambling. Pressure gives a fiery delivery taking listeners on a world-wide journey where poverty, suffering and violence have turned the pressure on.

The next track, Zion Is Home, is an ode to the motherland Africa. After listening a few times you'll be singing the sweet refrain "Zion Is Home."

Feel So Right is a jumpy tune where Pressure asserts the power of music. "The music hits so hard it feels so right; so play the reggae music make we skank all night." Pressure confirms his love for reggae music. "Shoulda know meh love reggae music to de bone . . . tell dem I was born with reggae music syndrome."

The music of In My World could easily be sampled for a hip-hop or R'n'B song, but Pressure's evocative chanting on the song confirms that it's reggae. This tune is especially for the ladies. Heartbreak is the theme of I Tried an exquisite ballad with a definite hip-hop flavor. Listen carefully to this song because the song shows Pressure's impressive vocal range.

The tight beat and positive lyrics of Light In You is sure to make it potential crossover song. It's a blend of roots-reggae, lover's rock and old-time dancehall. "Just follow that light inside of you, shining, shining through, let you works be seen and true; ignorance be mindful of," Pressure sings.

When Dem Come is a fine track on which Glen Washington joins Pressure for a soulful piece. On of our favourite tracks is the nyabinghi flavored track Ancient Woman a sure shot roots classic in the making. In Mama Pressure pays respect to his mother. One of the first releases off the cd, it's a touching tribute to all mothers.

Bus Dem Brain and Ganja are two perfect skanking one-drop-reggae tunes, giving space to Pressure's pure and undiluted vocals. The closing track is called No Limitation : "Through hard work, faith, and as father as our guide, we can achieve any and everything imaginable" the song begins. It's a motivational speech performed by a powerful vocalist over a catchy tune.

This album, produced by Dean Pond and Eno Stafford of Studio 340, will definitely blow your mind...