Album review
Free Jah's Cure, The Album, The Truth
Jah Cure
J&D Records-Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Songs Of Freedom
  2. Sunny Day
  3. Chant featuring Spectacular
  4. Jah Bless Me
  5. Working So Hard featuring Jah Mason
  6. Guide Us Jah
  7. Praises
  8. Spread Jah Love
  9. Who's Gonna Fight
  10. Get Up Stand Up
  11. Dance Vibes
  12. Move On
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

"Free Jah's Cure, The Album, The Truth" is the long awaited debut album - although many were longing for the Beres Hammond produced set - from the 20 year old singer Siccature Alcock popularly known as Jah Cure. Many reggae followers will know of Jah Cure's personal problems, but for those who don't... he got a 15 year sentence last year after he was found guilty of rape and gun charges. Regardless of wether or not Jah Cure is truly guilty (rumours go that it was a setup initiated by the Jamaican government), it's the young singer's music that has to be judged on its own merits.
Jah Cure's first full length album is mainly a compilation of singles covering the period 1997-2000 and coming from such fine Jamaican production houses as "Firehouse Crew", "321 Strong", "Henfield", "Golden Cartel" and "Kings Of Kings". The album opens with this year's released single "Songs Of Freedom", an outstanding Firehouse Crew produced piece, in which Jah Cure is poignantly wailing for freedom. The 1997 released "Sunny Day" is a rather mediocre tune which hardly keeps you involved during the entire song. Across the Firehouse Crew's monumental "Mount Jerusalem" riddim one is treated to a combination version of the excellent "Chant (Rastaman)", which was featured as a solo cut on a 1997 released Greensleeves 12" single. "Jah Bless Me" (1998) is delivered across a slow moody, roots riddim, the type of riddim on which Jah Cure usually excels, and indeed he does. The combination with Jah Mason - which saw its release on single in 1997 - is a decent effort. Then the epic "Guide Us Jah" (1998), a stupendous roots tune, which showcases Jah Cure at his very best in a hair-raising plea for Jah guidance in a wicked world. Also "Praises" (1999) belongs to the standout tracks. The same goes for the awesome "Spread Jah Love" (1999), which is delivered over Henfield's "Punch Line" riddim, and one of our personal favourites, "Who's Gonna Fight" (1999) featuring Swinging Sweet. "Get Up, Stand Up" is another Firehouse Crew produced tune, which happens to be a nice, nyabinghi flavored effort. The two last tracks of this set are produced by Colin "Iley Dread" Levy for "Kings Of Kings". "Dance Vibes" (aka "Dancehall Vibes"), utilizing Sizzla's "Show Us The Way" riddim, is a very enjoyable song, while Jah Cure's delivery in "Moving On" makes this an entertaining tune too.
Jah Cure had a thriving career at the time of his arrest and the youth seemed set for a bright and successful future, as he was widely regarded a pure talent and new roots hero. All this is fully underlined by this solid album.

Teacher & Mr. T.