Album review
The Winner

Tracking list

  1. Take Man Fa
  2. Weh Yo Run Fa
  3. Delilah
  4. Samson
  5. Weh
  6. Strive
  7. Jah Talk
  8. Blow Wow
  9. The Winner Featuring Frankie Paul
  10. Ma Nah
  11. Trailer
  12. Truck Back
  13. Hype Type Of Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

While living in Spanish Town, Jamaica, and performing under the name "Singie" veteran deejay and producer Prince Jazzbo discovered the talents of a young deejay who finally managed to make a serious impact in the dancehalls under his new name Zebra. This hardcore deejay - son of singer Dennis Walks whose excellent hit tune "The Drifter" was covered countlessly by many Jamaican artists including the late great Dennis Brown and Frankie Paul - utilizes a style and delivery reminiscent of Tiger, a deejay who suffered a serious motorbike accident in 1993 and had to withdraw from music business. Just like Tiger before him Zebra's style is far from harmonious, but it's often the way in which he growls his lyrics across hot ragga riddims that brought him many fans. However, deejays are more dependent on the right riddims than singers and Zebra, with his specific and unusual style, even more. That's the main reason why Zebra's debut album "The Winner" is a mediocre one as the Prince Jazzbo produced riddims do not fit this deejay very well. What a difference a fitting riddim makes can be witnessed when listening to "Hype Type Of Love" aka "Right Type Of Love", the only track not produced by Prince Jazzbo. This Q45 produced track, which utilizes Steely & Clevie's "Broke Bottle" riddim, is the only truly killer tune on this album. Although no killers nice tunes to spin are Take Man Fa, Weh Yo Run Fa and the title track The Winner.

Teacher & Mr. T.