Album review
3 Wise Men
Luciano, Anthony B & Sizzla
J & D Records
14 - 08 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Luciano - Come Jah
  2. Luciano - Man Shall Not Live
  3. Luciano - Punch Line
  4. Luciano - Hold Me In Your Arms
  5. Luciano - Love Me Brethren
  6. Anthony B - Give Thanks
  7. Anthony B & Buju Banton - Why Is It Your Laughing
  8. Anthony B - Affi Have A Queen
  9. Anthony B - Pretty Face
  10. Anthony B - Hype Them Hype
  11. Sizzla - Takes Only Time
  12. Sizzla - By Your Words
  13. Sizzla & Causion - Merciful Father
  14. Sizzla - Woman Of Africa
  15. Sizzla - Explain To The Almighty
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Excellent compilation set featuring fifteen tracks of pure "love, peace and consciousness" from three Jamaican artists who quickly moved to the forefront of reggae throughout the nineties thus becoming reggae music's most crucial roots artists. This "3 Wise Men" album - as much enlightening as it is entertaining - offers the chance to hear some of these artists' sought-after and memorable tunes which previously appeared on 7" singles including Luciano's outrageous "Punch Line" and Anthony B's cut to that song, "Give Thanks". Furthermore you can enjoy "Man Shall Not Live", Luciano's awesome cut to the "Heathen" riddim, Anthony B's wicked duet with Buju Banton, Sizzla's former Soljie 7" single "Explain To The Almighty", "Takes Only Time" and - over the "Culture Bashment" riddim - "By Your Words". Needless to say that this "three artists" compilation is filled with many great tunes, no filler to be found. So pick up your copy for it is truly worthwile. Production work on "3 Wise Men" is carried out by C. Cole ("Pure & Clean" productions), P. Daley, L. Dennis, Syl Gordon, George Miller (Firehouse Crew Productions), Kariang Productions and Henfield Records.

Teacher & Mr. T.