Album review
Throw Two Punch
Dub Doctor Music

Tracking list

  1. Let Every Man Be Heard
  2. Schemers
  3. Oonu Nuh Care
  4. Free The Kids
  5. Granny
  6. Blues 88
  7. Ads
  8. Throw Down King James
  9. Throw Two Punch
  10. Peter Wailer
  11. Prisoners Of The Dollar
  12. What I'm Gonna Do
  13. Tribute
  14. Police Brutality
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Malachi - not to be confused with the U.K.-based singer Malachi aka Prince Malachi - belongs to a select group of so-called dub poets (with Mutabaruka, Yasus Afari and Linton Kwesi Johnson probably being the most prominent exponents) who mainly deliver their poems across reggae riddims.
This nice album captures Malachi declaiming his writings that deal with everyday life and cultural items. On the majority of the tracks the poet's words are accompanied by full sounding riddims laid by veteran Karl Pitterson, including also some revitalized riddims like the Soul Vendor's "Swing Easy", Bob Marley's "Natural Mystic" and Winston Riley's "Stalag". The additional vocals of Ettosi, Ja Bez and Taurus Alphanso are appealing and even add a special flavour to it all. Noteworthy deliveries are the two "tribute" tracks Peter Wailer (for Peter Tosh) and Tribute (for Garnett Silk) as well as Schemers and the impressive Police Brutality.
Note: The sleeve contains all the lyrics so that those who want to read Malachi's poems whilst listening to the CD are fully served.

Teacher & Mr. T.