Thugs In The Streets
Mighty Diamonds
April 7, 2006

Track list
  1. Every Other Day
  2. Thugs In The Street
  3. Flat Foot
  4. Ten To One
  5. Jam Jam
  6. One Step
  7. Baby Love
  8. Conversation
  9. Magic Woman
  10. Sarah
  11. Party
  12. Ku Deh!
  13. I Need A Roof
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
One of Jamaica's greatest three part harmony groups, the Mighty Diamonds, was formed in 1969 by lead vocalist Donald "Tabby" Shaw with Fitzroy "Bunny" Simpson and Lloyd "Judge" Ferguson providing the harmonies and occasional lead, but their major breakthrough came almost a decade later when they teamed up with Channel One's Joseph Hookim who produced the group on a series of hits, leading to a contract with Virgin Records and the release of their debut, "Right Time", in 1976. Throughout their enduring career the Mighty Diamonds remained true to their roots and maintained the style which first brought them international notability.

The creators of classic hits such as "Pass The Kouchie", "I Need A Roof", "Country Living" and "Have Mercy" deliver us a 2006 album entitled "Thugs In The Streets". With the help of experienced musicians like Sly Dunbar, Lloyd Parks, Danny Axman, Winston "Bo Pee" Bowen, Dean Fraser, Tony Green, Bongo Herman, Right Move and Bubbler, the Mighty Diamonds have recorded an album with very current sounds, combining rootsy songs like "Every Other Day" (a remake of their own "One Brother Short" across the 'Satta Massagana' riddim), "Ku Deh!" and "Flat Foot" with dancehall titles like "Party" (featuring a young deejay called Ragga B) or a new hip-hop flavoured version of one of their most beloved tunes, "I Need A Roof". With "Jam Jam" the trio even goes into soca/calypso territory. Also included here are two well done covers of classic rocksteady tunes, namely "Conversation" (originally "My Conversation" by Slim Smith & The Uniques) and the Curtis Mayfield composition "Ten To One", which was first recorded at Studio One by the Mad Lads (later followed by renditions of Cornell Campbell, Prince Jazzbo and Dillinger).

Overall this album, which presents alot of refurnished classic riddims, doesn't reach the exalted standards of classic albums like "Right Time" and "Changes". It's perhaps too much to expect another classic release from these veterans, but on the other hand it's still a joy to hear all these tracks performed in the inimitable Mighty Diamonds style.