Album review
Time And Place
Lutan Fyah
Lustre Kings Productions
February 14, 2005

Tracking list

  1. Don't Waste Your Time feat. Yami Bolo
  2. No More War
  3. Fire In The Barn
  4. As Long As Life Lasts
  5. Speak Softly
  6. Time And Place
  7. Stress Free
  8. Upliftment feat. JAH Dan of Noble Society
  9. Rise And Shine
  10. She's Like The Rainbow
  11. Streets Of The Ghetto
  12. Woman Of Principle
  13. Joy Within Myself
  14. Ithio First
  15. Love Is The Only Absolute
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

Lutan Fyah, born Anthony Martin, grew up in Thompson Pen, St. Catherine, Jamaica where he was exposed to music at a very early age. Unlike many of today’s musicians, however, Lutan Fyah’s musical education did not begin in church. Instead he received proper schooling from his grandfather’s sound system and from the many artistes who used to vibe out around the sound and hone their skills in his yard. Despite his early immersion Lutan absolutely loved the game of soccer and excelled at the sport. Throughout his teenage years he represented his community, his school, and played in the national premier league for Constant Spring. His skills as a midfielder and all round soccer player are way above average and for a time, he exerted his energies in this endeavour with a good measure of success. The magnetism of music, however, proved more powerful and soon after becoming disenchanted with the sport, he followed a higher calling and decided to pursue his vision of Lutan Fyah, the music man. Determined, he made frequent visits to many of the studios around Kingston in a bid to make a name in the competitive music field. While on his journeys, he visited Buju Banton’s Gargamel studio and was chosen as a promising artiste after he passed an audition. Since then he has moved from strength to strength.
'Armageddon War', a single on the Gargamel Label, opened doors for him in Europe and on the West Coast of the United States, where the zealous Rastafarian chanter is particularly well loved. His 'Fling Stone' was also well received by the international reggae public and soon he became sought after by some promoters who were impressed with what they were hearing. Shortly after, in 2001, Ghetto Technologies contracted him to perform on the North West Reggae Fest in Seattle, Washington. His performance that night was so dynamic that Lutan Fyah started getting other gigs on the West Coast. Since then, he has performed all along the West Coast and has graced the stage in a number of cities along the East Coast, Bermuda and London. He did a month-long tour of Germany; additionally, he had the opportunity to perform in Austria and Switzerland, much to the delight of his fans. More recently, in November 2004, he toured France. He has voiced tunes for labels such as Xterminator, Jah Warrior, Mac D and Lustre Kings. The latter company puts out his long-awaited Lustre Kings album entitled "Time and Place". The Lustre Kings camp is known for its dedication to releasing strictly roots and culture and keeping the righteous message in the forefront. Producers involved here are Lustre King's house producer Digital Ancient, as well as Zion High and Dr. X.
The 15 track album features a slew of hit singles like No More War a burning tune across Lustre Kings' 'Fortune Teller' riddim. For the larger part the set displays live roots riddims, but also hypnotic dancehall grooves. Lutan occasionally also explores hip hop and ragga areas. The strong album opener is called Don't Waste Your Time and sees Lutan in combination with the great roots singer Yami Bolo. The second combination tune on the album is Upliftment where he teams up with Jah Dan of Noble Society. Rise And Shine invites us to give Jah the glory. A nice tune on the 'Alarm Clock' riddim. One of Lustre Kings' most recent riddims is the 'No Politics' riddim - an appealing bubbling rub-a-dub riddim. Lutan brings one of his finest efforts riding the riddim. Also worth of hearing is Streets Of The Ghetto on a cut of Don Carlos' 'Natty Dread Have Him Credential' riddim. The final cut on the album reminds us of Bob's 'Redemption Song'. It's Love Is the Only Absolute, a wicked acoustic, bluesy sufferer's tune.
A four star debut set!

Teacher & Mr. T.