Time For Change
Apache Indian
DHF Records / Groove Attack
June 27, 2005

Track list
  1. The Israelites with Desmond Dekker
  2. Sometimes Love
  3. Acting Shady
  4. Global Talk
  5. Calling Out To Jah with Luciano
  6. Everyday
  7. All Religions
  8. I Pray (Unplugged)
  9. Shackle & Chain
  10. Throw Your Hands Up with El Feco & Wil Guice
  11. Get Loose! with Pras
  12. So Hott! with Ms. Jade & Lady Ru
  13. That Girl with El Feco
  14. Tere Toor with Binder Bajwa
  15. Selecta!
  16. Tell Me Now
  17. Om Numah Shivaya (Tsunami Charity Single)
  18. A Prayer For Change with Gunjah (RR Mix)
  19. The Israelites with Desmond Dekker (RR Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3
The 'Don Raja' Apache Indian who stormed the charts in the early 90s with "Chokthere", "Arranged Marriage", "Movie Over India" and "Don Raja" from his "No Reservations" album, follows his recently recently released single (also the first tune on this album) "The Israelites" with this "Time For Change" album. Both have been licensed from Apache Indian's own API Recordings by Austria's Dancehallfieber Records - who put themselves firmly on the reggae map with their "Dancehallfieber" compilations "01", "02", "03", and "04", for release about a month earlier than the UK and international releases. The album incorporates 5 tracks from Apache Indian's overlooked 2000 release "Karma" (that also featured a combination with Boy George(!)). Starting with the originally in 1968 as "Poor Me Israelites" for Leslie Kong's Beverley's label recorded, now the man who originally recorded the tune Desmond Dekker appears alongside Apache on this riddim, built by his long time producer (and cousin!) Simon 'Subs' Duggal - who is one half of Bhangra/Desi duo Subs & Diamond, together with his brother DJ Swami a.k.a. Diamond. Diamond is the producer of the much more Indian influences showing 'desi-dancehall' girls tune "Sometimes Love" with beautiful R&B-ish female vocals by Harley and "Acting Shady" that is much in the same vein, although even more desi-beats oriented. "Global Talk" is a very nice Handel Tucker produced India-bigging-up also musically Indian influenced dance tune, followed by the first of the five tunes from Apache Indian's four and a half years released "Karma" the great 'Subs' produced combination "Calling Out To Jah" with Luciano. Next is the also 'Subs' produced upful "Everyday" over Studio One's 1970 'Throw Me Corn'-riddim, followed by the 'Subs' and Apache Indian take on 1971's Byron Lee produced Eric Donaldson gem 'Cherry Oh Baby', the thoughtful "All Religions". Yet another Duggal family-member, guitarist Peter Duggal, produced the beautiful acoustic prayer "I Pray", before 'Subs' returns at the production helm for the last of the five "Karma" tracks, "Shackle & Chain" using the great 1967 Jo Jo Bennett riddim 'The Lecturer'. The next new tune is once again produced by Handel Tucker for his Jamaican Groove Society featuring El Feco & Wil Guice going all party in 'Throw Your Hands Up". Diamond produced the desi-beats party tune "Get Loose" featuring (or is that former-)Fugee member Pras' US styled raps. "So Hott" features Ms. Jade's rapping and Lady Ru (also backing on "Acting Shady) singing alongside Apache Indian on this urban-vibes Jim Beanz produced tune. "That Girl" again features Jamaican Groove Society artist El Feco alongside Apache Indian on a Michael Chalal produced desi-beats/dancehall tune, before Punjabi (now living in Canada) singer Binder Bajwa joins for the Banghra track "Tere Toor". The 'Subs' produced drum & bass meets dancehall tune "Selecta" with its nice vocals cut and pastes incorporating a female vocal doing Johnny Osbourne's "Ice Cream Love" is an energetic and convincing tune. "Tell Me Now" however is a strange too poppy attempt to go Shaggy-style followed by the Tsunami Charity Single "Om Numah Shivaya" a nice choir supported chant for a very good cause and "A Prayer For Change" featuring the Indian female vocals of Gunjan over a one drop produced and arranged by Jim Beanz remixed by Reggae Revolution's Michael Nanton & Stephen Morrison who are also responsible for the nice "RR Mix" of "Israelites" that closes this album. It's a nice album, with a couple of very strong tracks of which however a big part stems from an almost five years old album, and overall it lacks some of the freshness and urgency that characterized Apache Indian when he entered the scene.