Album review
Time Marches On
Derrick morgan

Tracking list

           The Ska Years
  1. Time marches on (previously unreleased)
  2. Fatman
  3. You're a pest (previously unreleased)
  4. I wish I were an apple
  5. Love not to brag
  6. Lover boy

    The Rock Steady Years

  7. Do the Beng Beng
  8. Father Killam
  9. Bad luck on me
  10. Ain't that crazy
  11. Tears on my pillow
  12. Lagga head
  13. Stumbling block
  14. Conquering ruler

    The Reggae Years

  15. Top of the pop
  16. What a bam bam
  17. Searching so long
  18. Reggae train
  19. Rudies don't fear
  20. I shot the deputy
  21. Moon hop (live)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

"Time Marches On" is an excellent compilation set, spanning three decades of reggae music's history. The compilation features 21 of Derrick Morgan's most requested tracks and covers the period of 1959 until 1996. As usual HeartBeat delivers a wonderful package, with very extensive liner notes complete with info about every track. The album is "divided" into three parts : The Ska Years, The Rock Steady Years and The Reggae Years.
Derrick Morgan was born in March 1940, in the district of Stewarton in the parish of Clarendon, Mocho Clarendon. At the early age of 17 Derrick entered the Vere John's Opportunity Show at the Palace Theatre in Kingston. After that he started performing with the comedy duo Bim & Bam over the next two years. He made his first recordings for Duke Reid and he recorded his first smash hit "Fatman" for producer "Little Wonder" at Federal Recording studios in 1959. When this record was released Derrick was already hugely popular in the dancehalls of Kingston as his releases were being kept exclusive by both Duke Reid and Coxsone for their dances.
Derrick quicly became the hottest artist on the island and in 1960 he held the Number 1 to 7 slots at the Top ten at one time! The next year he recorded his biggest hit of all time, "Housewive's Choice", a duet with Millicent "Patsy" Todd. After leaving producer Prince Buster he teamed up with Leslie Kong. This departure led to an entertaining, and succesful, exchange of insults on singles like "Blazing Fire", "Black Head Chiney Man" and "No Raise No Praise".
Derrick Morgan recorded prolifically throughout the '60s and the '70s. An imposing figure invariably topped with an almost brimless pork-pie hat, his cool, hip and rhythmic voice, enlived by the occasional excited yelp, applied itself successfully to a variety of styles from Ska to Rock steady and reggae and rapidly became a popular figure with reggae's UK skinhead followers.
"Time Marches On" is a great compilation set, showcasing the unique style of Derrick Morgan, highlighting his many-sided talents.

Teacher & Mr. T.