Album review

Tracking list

  1. Reggae Is Coming
  2. Chainga Langa
  3. Sentimento Original
  4. Irie
  5. Jah Jah Children
  6. Orgullosa Mole
  7. Guerra
  8. Armonia De Amor
  9. Smile Souling
  10. Pincoya Calipso
  11. Pidigüeño
  12. Nubes Del Firmamento
  13. Jah Children (Nyahbinghi Dub Version)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

Gwondana is a reggae band from Chile, who has teamed up with Dr. Dread from Ras Records resulting in the release of their first cd entitled Together. The album has achieved gold status in Chile and the band is spearheading a reggae movement currently exciting the whole of Chile.
Lead vocalist Quique Neira has a pleasant sounding voice and delivers the songs mixing Spanish and English. The beat throughout the album is traditional one drop, with the addition of powerful horn riffs. Gondwana delivers a steady selection of well constructed songs, lyrically taking the listener on a journey through their conscious political and hopeful messages.
The albums opens with Reggae Is Coming a track describing how reggae is taking over in Chile : "and this is reggae, I feel reggae, coming to my nation to shine". This track is followed by two of my favorite songs on the album, Chainga Langa and Sentimento Original. The anthemic track Jah Children is is also present here in the remix version. This version features some of the Rastafari Elders (Brother Jack, Ras Sidney and Ras Irie) who added some Nyahbinghi drumming to the song.
The album contains one of the sweetest love songs I've ever heard -Armonia De Amor-, whilst the next track -Smile Souling- is a joyful tribute to the songwriter's daughter. Other outstanding tracks on this strong debut set are Guerra (War) and Pidigüeño (Beggar Boy.
Solid riddims, a strong vocal delivery and the thoughtful lyrics make this a fine album which makes one longing for more !

Also check out Phat Cherimoya Dub   the beautiful companion dub cd.

Teacher & Mr. T.