Unknown Language
VP Records-Walboomers Music
CD ((Promotional Copy)
June 18, 2005

Track list
  1. Survivor
  2. Hey Ladies
  3. Everything's Alright
  4. Solid As A Rock
  5. Fire Fire
  6. She's Hotter feat. Pitbull
  7. Tell Me (If You Still Care)
  8. Deja Vu feat. Shaggy
  9. Footprints
  10. Wah Gwan
  11. Haters
  12. Music Pumping
  13. Makes Me Weak
  14. No Way Jose
  15. I Get High
  16. Neck Breakers
  17. Gal Yuh A Lead
  18. Unknown Language
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
It's probably the sophomore album being in the can the longest ever, but finally T.O.K.'s "Unknown Language" has been released, and Xavier "Flexx" Davidson, Craig "Craigy T" Thompson, Alistaire "Alex" McCalla and Roshaun "Bay-C" Clarke are once again ready to take over the (dancehall) world. Most tracks are well known to the dancehall massive, as they are on riddims that have ruled the dancehalls the last year and are themselves tunes having ruled the dancehalls, "Survivor", the track opening the album is on Renaissance's 'Stepz'- riddim, followed by "Hey Ladies" on Don Corleon's 'Jonkanoo- riddim and the fine new tune work all day party all night "Everything's Alright" before 'returning to the classics' with "Solid As A Rock" over Christopher 'Longman' Birch' 'Thrilla' for his Echo label, "Fire Fire" over Fire Links' 'Mad Instruments, "She's Hotter" in the version featuring Pitbull over a reggaeton remix of Christopher 'Longman' Birch' 'Sexy Lady' for his and Shaggy's Big Yard label, "Tell Me" if you still care over son of Third World's Ibo Cooper, Arif Cooper's 'Celebration' for his Fresh Ear label, and then switching to something new again with Shaggy joining T.O.K. for the hilarious tune "Deja Vu" riding the hookline of Stevie Wonder's "Uptight (Everything's Alright)". Next is their absolute smash-hit, the reality tune "Footprints" on Don Corleon's 'Drop Leaf'. Another new tune is featured then, "Wah Gwan" on Christopher 'Longman' Birch' extremely infectious latest bashment-riddim which seems a strange hybrid between gospel and his 'Military'-riddim 'My Swing', also backing "Calling Out" by Elephant Man, "Feeling Good" by Voicemail, "Some Gal" by Assassin, "Dem Nuh Know Mi" by Capleton, "Get Inna Spirit" by Vybz Kartel, "Let Off Di Money" by Macka Diamond, "Obeah Man" by Kiprich and "Got This Feeling" by Prestige, followed by T.O.K.'s "Haters" over Troyton Rami's 'Ching Chong', and the next new tune "Music Pumping", a tune that does what its title promises after an acoustic guitar intro makes way for a pulsating riddim. Massive B's 'Rah Rah' is the backing for yet another scorcher; "She Makes Me Weak" / she knocks me off my feet / but i don't really like it / i've tried to fight it all explained already in the i know your bad for me, i can't help it, oh, yeah-intro, and brought in their great fashion of strong DJ-ing and excellent singing. Tony 'CD' Kelly and his K-Licious Crew contribute the pumping hard hitting R&B/hiphop influenced riddim with melodic accents 'Grindin' for "No Way Jose" telling the girls not to try to trick them into spending their money on them, before 2 new tunes over pretty experimental riddims are featured "I Get High" with its partly highpitched vocodered vocals and "Neck Breakers" which also has a very out of style (yet fine) vocal delivery produced by Tony 'CD' Kelly. Another Massive B production that ruled the dances for months is the penultimate track on the album, "Gal Yuh A Lead" over the absolutely brilliant by Richard 'Shams' Browne for Bobby Konders built 'Wanted'- riddim. Closing the album is T.O.K.'s take on one of the biggest riddims of the last 2 years, Kings Of Kings' Cordell 'Scatta' Burrell Indian inspired uptempo backdrop with the hypnotic handclaps 'Coolie Dance' for the title track of this brilliant compilation of tunes "Unknown Language". A superb collection of T.O.K. tunes, but anyone buying 7"s and even those only buying one-riddim albums, will probably take the gamble that the 4 tunes not available elsewhere yet, will soon be. And according to the latest official tracklist available on VP Records' website, "Everything's Alright" and "Deja Vu" included on this promocopy, might be left off the official release ...