Album review
Top Secret
Tommy McCook & The Super Sonic
CRS/Beatville Records
09 - 11 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Green Mango
  2. Top Secret
  3. Wild Bunch
  4. Green Apple
  5. Beruit
  6. Jungle Skank
  7. West Street Special
  8. Big Bad & Bold
  9. Midnight Time
  10. Mistic Mood
    Bonus tracks :
  11. Walk On The Side
  12. Hot Shot
  13. Watch This Music
  14. Sweet Soul Special
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 4

Beatville Records was founded in late 1997 by RAS Records. The focus was to branche off into other territories and present music such as ska, swing, rockabilly, classic reissues, and retro-authentic genres of music. One of the label's finest reissues is this Winston Riley produced set, featuring the former frontman of the Skatalites, saxophonist Tommy McCook. His musical genius is highlighted troughout this entire album, which also features ska greats Jackie Jackson, Drum Bago, Lloyd Knibbs, Lloyd Brevett, Lyn Tate and Jacky Mittoo as well as trumpet legend Boby Ellis. Further musicians include Sly & Robbie, Winston Wright and Earl Chinna Smith. According to the liner notes the album was originally recorded at Duke Reid's renowned Tresure Isle studios circa 1969. ?????????????? The album features two Studio One do-overs. Beirut is a track across the 'Pressure Rock' riddim, whilst Midnight Time is loosely based on the 'One Step' riddim. More standouts on the album include Jungle Skank, Top Secret, and Wild Bunch.

Teacher & Mr. T.