Album review
True Vibration
Owen Grey
Jet Star / Charm

Tracking list

  1. Love Letter
  2. Always On My Mind
  3. I'll Take You There
  4. Shot Gun
  5. Bring It On Home
  6. Sentimental Reasons
  7. Endless Love
  8. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  9. Midnight Train
  10. Let's Get It On
  11. Unchained Melody
  12. Nature Planned It
  13. Green Green Grass
  14. This Is A Man's World
  15. Blue Moon
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3

Born 5 July, 1939, Jamaica, Owen Gray was one of the first to cut a record praising a sound system, the 1959 'On The Beach' for Coxsone Dodd. The next year the hits started coming, when he teamed up with later Island Records owner, Chris Blackwell. Throughout the decade he was one of the most popular recording artists.
He celebrates 40 years in the music business with the album True Vibration. The theme of love runs through this collection of songs, smooth and sweet renditions of soul and pop classics. This type of music is called 'big people music', which is very popular in the UK. He recorded this set in The Cave in London with musicians Black Steel, Victor Cross, Steve Roberts and Derek Fevrier, who also produced this album. Owen Gray's light breezy vocal delivery and the professional backing make this album very enjoyable if have a taste for 'big people music'. Strictly for the lovers and loved only !

Teacher & Mr. T.