Tommy Tornado
Rude Rich Records
July 28, 2009

Track list
  1. Next Target feat. Dennis Alcapone
  2. Door Peeper feat. Winston Francis
  3. Mountain High, River Deep
  4. Gladiator feat. Rico Rodriguez
  5. Mascarade
  6. Jah Lick Him feat. Jah Red
  7. Sunrise
  8. Clear Vision feat. Soulmack
  9. Cruisin'
  10. Candle Light feat. Ernest Ranglin
  11. Pempelem feat. Crucial T.
  12. Tight Spot
  13. Rough Style feat. Osagyefo
  14. Soulful Time
  15. Blowin' At 5 PM
  16. Mistery Woman feat. Winston Reedy
  17. Ruff & Tuff feat. Rico Rodriguez
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 3-
Very Good -Votes: 7-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 14
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Thomas 'Tommy Tornado' Streutgers is a gifted Dutch saxophone player who joined the famous Rude Rich & The High Notes band at the tender age of 18. That was at the end of last century. Since then he has toured all over the world, making records with and backing famous Jamaican vocalists such as Alton Ellis, Dave Barker, U Brown, The Heptones, Winston Francis and Dennis Alcapone.

Currently Tommy is playing with four different bands, including JZZZZZP, Rude Rich & The High Notes, The Soulsnatchers and The Busquito's. His first solo effort is called "Sunrise", a nice 17 track album (mostly instrumentals) on which he is assisted by some Jamaican (vintage) vocalists and some new and upcoming names. The band (The High Notes) plays to the point and tight. The mix sounds like the early Studio One albums, where the vocal is mixed 'behind' the instruments as if the voice is one of those instruments.

After an introduction by veteran deejay Dennis Alcapone it switches to a classic Burning Spear tune -- Door Peeper -- now with vocals by Winston 'Mr. Fix It' Francis. It's obvious that no one can match Spear's version, but this one is fine too. Mountain High, River Deep is a fast paced reggae tune while Gladiator features the trombone of Rico Rodriguez. He also shows up on track 17, Ruff & Tuff. We like the next tune a lot. Mascarade is one of the highlights here. It reminds us of the days of Channel One and The Revolutionaries. It's the instrumental track of the deejay cut by Jah Red, called Jah Lick Him. Sorry to say that Jah Red fails to make a decent impression.

Sunrise brings down the tempo. It's a laid back, sun drenched tune, excellent for a sunny and lazy afternoon. Vocalist Soulmack sings across an Augustus Pablo flavoured riddim on Clear Vision. His vocal delivery is promising, but not yet perfect. Tight Spot is the instrumental to Rough Style a tune featuring vocalist Osagyefo. He does a good job! Soulful Time is an instrumental soul ballad with a retro styled organ riff. Blowin' At 5 PM brings back memories of the late great Tommy McCook. It's a true highlight on this album. The vocal version -- Mistery Woman -- features Winston Reedy.