Do Good
Minor7Flat5-Groove Attack
CD & limited edition LP
January 19, 2007

Track list
  1. Pursue
  2. Do Good
  3. Freedom Train feat. Luciano
  4. I Believe
  5. Bright Eyes
  6. We Deserve
  7. Good Time
  8. Mothers
  9. Move On feat. Higher Trod Family
  10. Facts
  11. Too Much Killin'
  12. Next Flight
  13. Give Thanx
  14. Marihuana (Northern Lights Remix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Sheldon Campbell a.k.a. Turbulence took the reggae world by storm, sharing a similar vocal style to that of Sizzla, while his strength lies in his rich and powerful vocal delivery. Like many young Jamaican people, Turbulence discovered his talent while still attending classes at St. Andrew’s Technical High School in Kingston, Jamaica. First discovered by Xterminator Records figurehead Phillip 'Fatis' Burrell, Turbulence has worked tirelessly for the opportunity to command the mic and speak his thoughts. One of his best albums so far in my opinion was his 2003 album on Minor7Flat5, "Different Thing" recorded for Anthony Senior (AL.TA.FA.AN / Kingston, Jamaica), Brotherman (Minor7Flat5 / Gran Canaria, Spain) and Silly Walks Movement (Four Music / Hamburg, Germany), and now Turbulence kicks off 2007 in fine style teaming up again with Andreas 'Brotherman' Christophersen for his Minor7Flat5-label. As usual with great riddims by essentially the Firehouse Crew, George 'Dusty' Miller, Leroy 'Horsemouth' Wallace, Danny Bassie, Paul 'Wrongmove' Crossdale, Lloyd 'Obeah' Denton, Dean Frazer, Nambo Robinson, Dwight Richards, Uziah 'Sticky' Thompson and others. I have till now enjoyed every strong artist(s) album "Tell It From The Heart" by Luciano, Al Pancho's "Righteous Men", and Lutan Fyah's "Dem No Know Demself" and last year Anthony B's "My Hope", "Rasta Still De' Bout" by Josie Mel and Tony Tuff's "Say Something" as well as the album "The Good, The Bad & The Blazing" featuring Junior Kelly, Bounty Killer & Capleton. And Brotherman has done it once more, inspiring an artist to deliver a very organic sounding fine album without a weak tune. Opening the album with the excellent "Pursue" over a great horn driven (almost Brotherman's trademark) swinging roots riddim, Turbulence follows it with the magnificent title track "Do Good" over the 'Friedenland'-riddim with its wicked Nambo Robinson trombone sounding even stronger than before and it's been one of my pet Minor7Flat5 riddims since I first heard it. "Freedom Train" is a reprise of the (great) track that appeared on Luciano's "Tell It >From The Heart" and although it's more than 3 years old now, it's still a killer tune that deserves its inclusion on this album, before a beautiful intro (hard to believe that it was sung by Turbulence, sounds more like DaVille to my ears) leads us into the wonderful ballad "I Believe", followed by the smooth lovers tune "Bright Eyes" followed by the more at the dancehall aimed (yet equally strong) "We Deserve" and the funky jazzy groove of "Good Time". "Mothers" is great one drop reggae with beautiful angelic female backing vocals accompanying Turbulence's smoothful but fierce delivery and then his Higher Trod Family crewmembers join him for the powerful "Move On" over the love-it-or-hate-it 'Classic'-riddim with its prominent classical string riffs, before one of Brotherman's best known (and rightfully so) riddims 'Campo' backs the brilliant "Facts" and a very experimental remix (that works perfect) of the 'Ivan'-riddim backing his speed-rapped indignation about "Too Much Killing". The 'Sunday'-riddim - and I want to emphasize once more, the underrated 'Sunday'-riddim - backs his wonderful lover-gone-wrong tune "Next Flight" (that has that smooth DaVille-like voice in the intro again) and the 'Grow'-riddim gets heavily dubbed up for the wonderful "Give Thanx". "Marihuana (Northern Lights Remix)" closes this album in fine style with a sound that is reminiscent of the drum & bass vibe of the 'Minor7Flat5'-riddim but much more dubbed up, closely related to (or a remix of) the riddim that backed Tony Tuff's "Real" to leave a lasting impression of again a brilliant album with great Brotherman productions backing Turbulence's excellent conscious and lovers lyrics and flawless fierce delivery. A great start to 2007 for both Turbulence and Brotherman and everyone hearing (and buying) this album.