Album review
Sounds Of The Innocent
Dextone Record Corporation
October 11 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Who Lock The Door
  2. Cool Cat (Give Me Some More)
  3. Take Heed
  4. One Woe
  5. Rock Soul Party
  6. Interlude
  7. Sounds Of The Innocent
  8. Work
  9. Summertime
  10. Little Rivers
  11. Who Are You
  12. Why
  13. What Are You Doing
  14. Interlude
  15. Rebel
  16. Who Are You
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Umojah - not to confuse with the five piece band from the mountains of northern Montana or the Jamaican roots singer from St. Ann's, Jamaica - is a band that emerged on the Cruzan (St. Croix, USVI) scene some fifteen years ago. Over the years the band has built a repertoire of popular reggae cover songs as well as original tunes. The founding and current core members of the group, Lenn and Babs Bully, have been writing, arranging and performing together for the entire life of the band. Other dedicated band members include Cyril browne and Leslie James. Their collective musical abilities enable them to provide lead and backup vocals, as well as bass, keyboard, guitar, drum and percussive instrumentation. Originally released in 2002, "Sounds Of The Innocent" is Umojah's first cd project. It can be regarded as a tribute to their fans in St. Croix who have been supporting them since 1985.
Produced by Umojah and Karl Pitterson this set offers 16 tracks of conscious roots reggae music. Lead vocalist Lenn fully shows that he posesses a strong voice - sometimes reminiscent of Albert Griffiths - that will appeal to may roots lovers. The singer is backed by heavy sounding roots riddims and nyahbinghi flavoured backdrops, nice backup vocals and some great saxophone parts. Personally we're not overly fond of the dominant synthesizer sounds and the rock guitar sound that come to the forefront in several tracks, but others may like it. When it comes to lyrical content the majority of the tracks are mind provoking and keep you involved to the very end. Best tracks are "One Woe", "Sounds Of The Innocent", "Work", "Little Rivers", "Who Are You", "What Are You Doing" and "Rebel"

Teacher & Mr. T.