Album review
Under The Spell Of Dub
Mad Professor

Tracking list

  1. Mental bondage
  2. Internet spy
  3. Santero dub
  4. Mad Elaine
  5. Brewing storm
  6. False curl girl
  7. Cracking the code
  8. Melt down dub
  9. Black panther dub
  10. Theme from darumba
  11. Master race
  12. Master plan
  13. Robotronic
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : -/3 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Listening to some of the latest Mad Professor's dub albums you easily get the feeling that he cleverly sticks to a succesful formula, which makes that much tracks and even complete albums sound quite similar. This, however, is a well varied album embodying the different styles of dub that have influenced Neil Fraser a.k.a. Mad Professor over the past 20 years or so. With a divers range of styles, from original bass and drum like "Mental bondage" to nineties drum and bass - "Robotronic" - this album is a full proof that now, in the late 90's, many styles are under the influence of dub ! Modern digital roots is also represented by "Mad Elaine", "Santero" and "Brewing storm", whilst the old school analogue sounds of real instruments stand proudly on "False curl girl", "Cracking the code" and "Meltdown dub". "Theme from Darumba" and "Master race" wander into Massive Attack territory of trip-hop.

Teacher & Mr. T.