Album review
Carlton Livingston

Tracking list

  1. Come On Baby
  2. Rain
  3. Give Me Water
  4. Lose My Religion
  5. Armageddon
  6. Finders Keepers
  7. Just My Luck
  8. Get Up And Dance
  9. Johnny Was A Bad Boy
  10. That Will Be The Day
  11. Thief From Thief
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Carlton Livingstone is one of those Jamaican artists who has never quite achieved the success he deserves. He started recording at the start of the eighties, and teamed up with producer C. Jarrett, cutting some fine slices of lovers orientated reggae at Channel One like for example 'Lonely man', 'Rumours' and 'Marie'. He subsequently recorded the herb anthem 'Chalice In Mind' for Sly and Robbie. At the moment he's residing in the USA, where he occassionally sings over classic Studio One riddims for producer Coxsone Dodd. For Jamadon Records he recorded the album 'Unforgiven' in 1999. This album features 11 tracks which were all recorded in the USA. With his recognisable vocal delivery he is capable of voicing a well crafted album of catchy, melodic songs. The mix of lovers tunes and roots tunes - some of them across vintage reggae riddims - makes a solid impression. Standout tracks found here are Armageddon, Give Me Water, Johnny Was A Bad Boy and A No One Of Us, the latter being a tune across the timeless "Conversation" riddim.
The album 'Unforgiven' is a truly decent effort from Carlton !

Teacher & Mr. T.