Album review
Jah Mason
Walboomers Records

Tracking list

  1. Unlimited
  2. Nah Give Up
  3. The Music
  4. Si Dem Move
  5. How Long
  6. Jacket & Tie
  7. Where Is The Love ?
  8. All I Can See
  9. Vegetable Time
  10. E-Mail
  11. No Token
  12. De Youths Dem Bawling feat. Ian Sweetness
  13. No Limit feat. Don Angelo
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Andre Johnson aka Jah Mason belongs to a group of highly-rated young reggae singjays to emerge from Jamaica in the last few years. Under the name Perry Mason he recorded his debut single "Selassie I Name Me A Call" for Junior Reid's "JR" label in 1992. Because he sees himself as a builder of righteousness he decided to change his artist name to Jah Mason. Since then he started to gain more and more attention - first locally, then on an international level - due to recording some uncompromising Rasta tunes such as "Money Dem A Run Down", "See Dem A Flex", "Dem Have And Dem Want", "False Hype", "Hard Mama Work", "Never Bow", "Empty Barrel", "Food", "Things To Do", "Forgive Not Forget" as well as two wicked combinations with Jah Cure, "Run Come Love Me" and "Working So Hard". Jah Mason has been featured on many of Jamaica's leading labels like Stone Love, Flames, JR, Mixing Lab, Solgie, Blend Them, King of Kings, French and New Life. His highly anticipated debut album "Keep Your Joy" was unleashed in 2002 on the US based "Ghetto Technology" label and now we're treated to it's follow-up "Unlimited". Jah Mason has a superficial vocal resemblance to the "Prophet" Capleton, but his subject matter is never slack or gimmicky. On his second album the Bobo chanter makes a good impression and as usual he spreads his righteous message with utter conviction and conveys a positive vibe in all his efforts. On the riddim side this is a well varied set as it has melodic reggae backdrops as well as hard hitting dancehall beats. Key tracks are "Nah Give Up", "The Music", "How Long", "Jacket & Tie", "Where Is The Love", "No Token" and the wicked combination tune "De Youths Dem Ballin". "Unlimited" is a solid album, produced by Reggae Vibes' Michael "Jah Mikes" Coburn and recorded and mixed at Phillip Smart's HC&F Studio in Long Island, NY, Platinum Recording Group, Carlstadt, NJ, and at Mixing Lab, Kingston, Jamaica.

Teacher & Mr. T.