Album review
Unstoppable 1986-1992
Chaka Demus & Pliers
Music Club

Tracking list

  1. Chaka Demus & Pliers - Gal Wine
  2. Chaka Demus - Money Skank
  3. Chaka Demus - Shock Out
  4. Pliers - I Wanna Be Your Man
  5. Pliers - When I Get Your Love
  6. Pliers - Love Song
  7. Pliers - Mercy Mercy Me
  8. Chaka Demus & Pliers - Dutty Character
  9. Chaka Demus - Take Long Fe Come
  10. Chaka Demus - Them A Say One
  11. Chaka Demus - Don't Hang It On The Line
  12. Chaka Demus - Mi Bad But Mi Good
  13. Chaka Demus & Pliers - Can't Test Me
  14. Pliers - Lazy Love
  15. Pliers - Sweet Sherene
  16. Pliers - All And Pull Up
  17. Chaka Demus - Lively Me Up
  18. Chaka Demus - Me No In A It
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

One of the most successful deejay/singer combinations in reggae history is without doubt Chaka Demus & Pliers. Chaka Demus' gruff voiced deejay style and the heartfelt vocals of Pliers made an international impact with the release of the seminal album 'Tease Me' in 1993. Between June 1993 and January 1995 the duo scored massive hits with songs like "Murder She Wrote", "Tease Me" and the rock and roll orientated "Twist And Shout", delivered across innovative Sly & Robbie ragga riddims. However, before they achieved international recognition the pair had already built up sizeable reputations in Jamaica as solo acts since the mid-eighties, each having recorded for the Island's ace producers. It was after sharing the bill at a Miami stage show that they decided to record together. Collaborations between singers and deejays were not uncommon in the Jamaican music industry, but more permanent partnerships like Chaka Demus & Pliers were rare.
This fine compilation set is well worth checking out as it gathers rare, early outgoings from the singer and the deejay as well as three of their first efforts as a duo.

Teacher & Mr. T.