Album review
Upsetter In Dub (Upsetter Shop Volume 1)
Lee Perry

Tracking list

  1. Noah sugar pan
  2. Ketch a dub
  3. Version train
  4. Rootically dub (preciously unreleased)
  5. Son of the Black Ark (previously unreleased atlternate mix)
  6. Lorna skank
  7. If the cap fits
  8. Dub a come
  9. Tedious dub
  10. Rejoice in skank
  11. Babylon thief dub (previously unreleased)
  12. Foundation solid (previously unreleased alternate mix)
  13. Bagman
  14. Better reach
  15. Dub in time
  16. Fun and games (previously unreleased)
  17. Sipple dub
  18. Bionic rat dub (previously unreleased)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4/5

When Scratch (a.k.a. Rainford Hugh Perry, born 28 March 1936, Hanover, Jamaica) opened his Black Ark studio in 1974, he became a major force in the development of reggae music, changing the the face of reggae music. Perry's sound was totally unique, and Black Ark became a spawning ground for many Jamaican artists. He was one of the great pioneers of dub music, producing and mixing heavyweigth, mind blowing dub anthems alongside some of the best classic reggae albums. This 18 track compilation consists mostly of unknown dub tracks from Scratch. Over the years lots of dub albums have been released containing the works of Scratch, but this one really gets a grip on you. Most tracks date from the later '70's, with 1976 and1977 being the years many of these tracks were recorded. Dubs from songs of Junior Delgado, The Silvertones (Rejoice : wicked tune !), Junior Murvin (Police and Thieves gets the Far East treatment from Augustus Pablo), The Congos and Max Romeo (War inna Babylon). "Upsetter in Dub" offers more than one hour of real hardcore dub, Jamaican style, produced and mixed by the man who had a dazzling crreative peak in the seventies, when he released so many scintillating sounds like the ones on this album. Wicked & crucial !

Teacher & Mr. T.