Who Is The Enemy?
Urban Tribe
Adam Atterby Musikproduktion-Irie Records
October 20, 2006

Track list
  1. No Solution feat. David Hinds
  2. Change The World
  3. Save It For A Rainy Day
  4. Murder
  5. Who Is The Enemy?
  6. Wake Up
  7. Resist Them
  8. In Slavery
  9. Teach The Children
  10. Give Thanks And Praises
  11. Babylon
  12. Babylon (Reprise) feat. Selwyn Brown
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3
"Who Is The Enemy?" is the second album of Urban Tribe, the Swedish reggaeband around singer, guitar player, composer and producer Adam Atterby. Their first album "Bob's Bar" was not only a very nice classic roots album, but also an attempt to help rebuild Surin 'Bob' Sikapain his Bob's Bar, the reggae hangout on Thailand's Kamala Beach that was destroyed on Boxing Day 2004 when the big tsunami hit South East Asia and killed tens of thousands of people. 20 per cent of the sales of the "Bob's Bar" album resulted in the re-opening of Surin Sikapain's bar in October 2005 and now Urban Tribe deliver the successor, distributed exclusively by Münster's Irie Records, the ever reliable shop, mailorder and distributor located in Germany's Nordrhein-Westfalen but serving not only Europe's mainland since 25 years but many overseas customers as well. Urban Tribe is a 12-piece outfit (including the great horn section and very strong female backing vocals trio) who follow the directions given by Adam Atterby with great melodic skills, resulting in a warm organic sound throughout the album. Opening track "No Solution" features the fine vocals of Steel Pulse's David Hinds, on the first of many very convincing, lyrically socially engaged tunes, and the vibe is maintained with "Change The World" and in the uplifting "Save It For A Rainy Day" Urban Tribe's Trinidadian toaster Bamma B is delivering a perfect copy of Shaggy's delivery and tone of voice in a very satisfying way, with Tobbe Eliasson's saxophone in a beautiful starring role as well. A ballad like "Murder", with its riddim having a scent of Bob Marley & The Wailers "Sun Is Shining" and some wonderful piano by Frank Rönningen and the very fine title song "Who Is The Enemy?" might musically sound completely different, thematically it's all very consistent and the quality of the music is as well. "Wake Up" with slightly echoed horns over a fine roots riddim is a call to open your eyes and see (and fight against) the corruption and greed, followed by "Resist Them" where the horns play a major role again in a tune that musically comes very close to the better Lucky Dube tunes you once heard and "In Slavery" about the unseen chains of 'modern life', highlighting in the process once more the excellent female backing vocals and giving space to beautiful syncopated jazzy guitar accents. "Teach The Children" musically returns to early 80s roots reggae in a fine way featuring the voice of Adam Atterby very young son Rasmus and a splendid string-section before "Give Thanks And Praises" recalls early Aswad as musically and (backing-)vocally the high standard is maintained. This very fine second Urban Tribe album "Who Is The Enemy?" is closed in very fine style with the indictment "Babylon" and it's beautifully semi-Nyahbinghi semi-acoustic "Babylon (Reprise)" featuring Selwyn Brown, another Steel Pulse member over the choir-like backing vocals, strings and the underpinning great reggae riddim. 80s UK-roots and Lucky Dube lovers are obliged to check out this album, all others are recommended heartily to do so.